WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

相互结合的原子

153 点击数
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

世界上充满了各种物质。稍微环顾周围也能发现,不仅有水、空气、石头等自然物质,还有像塑料一样的人工物质。如果把这些物质分解再分解的话,最终会成为什么呢?分解至最后,就会成为世界上最基本的单位——原子。

只以一种原子构成的纯粹物质叫做元素,它是组建万物的最基本要素。被我们知晓的元素共有110多种,其中从大自然中发现的元素只有90多种,经常能看到的元素也只有40多种。

化学结合的神秘

有个主题公园中,用五颜六色的小立方积木建造了一个村庄。通过搭建积木,可以建造高大的标志性建筑、汽车及游乐场的秋千,这不得不令人惊叹。像这样,存在于我们周边的大多数物质都是由两种以上的元素结合而成的化合物。如同用不同的积木,呈现出不同的模样,各种原子也会结合成不同结构的化合物。

然而,很神奇的是,化合物的性质和其构成元素的性质却截然不同。例如,水分子(H₂O)是由两个氢原子和一个氧原子相结合的化合物。而通常由两个原子结合成分子状态的氢气(H₂)是易燃气体,一旦与空气接触,就容易被点燃。与氢气相同,氧气(O₂)也以双原子分子存在,由于反应性大,可以与绝大多数的元素结合。这两者相合变成水,但水主要以液体状态存在,很稳定。不像氧气或氢气燃烧其他物质或自燃,而是被用于灭火。

水分子的模型
过氧化氢分子的模型

用同样的原子为材料,可以制造出千差万别的物质。当两个氢原子和两个氧原子相遇时,就成为做消毒液的过氧化氢(H₂O₂)。过氧化氢与水不同,十分不稳定,因此在常温下也容易被分解为水和氧气。

就像用相同模样和大小的积木,可以搭建出多种模样一样,一种元素也能形成不同物质。极具代表性的就是碳元素。钻石和石墨均由碳元素构成,却因结合的排列结构不同,呈现天壤之别的性质。

钻石(左)和石墨(右)的结构

钻石是由碳原子以正四面体结构连续结合而成的宝石。由于很结实,不但被象征为永远,而且在工业上用于切削或打磨。与此相反,石墨的形态以正六角形的二次元结构层层叠加而成,它不仅松软,还容易沾在其他物质上,所以用来做铅笔芯。

制造化合物的规则

原子结合成化合物,也有其相应的规则。原子中有带正电的原子核,其周围围绕着带负电的电子。原子核又是以质子和中子构成,但由于原子所含有的质子和电子的个数相同,因此按电性来说,原子本身是中性。

为了容易区分电子显现的能量状态,科学家们假设电子是以原子核为中心,按照其能级,形成好多层。这时,电子所形成的层面叫做“电子层”,并每层都有规定的电子数。第一层有两个电子,第二层有八个电子,第三层可以放入十八个电子。

其中,最外层的电子们参与化学结合。而原子们具有甘愿丢失电子或得到电子,也要在外层放八个电子的倾向。这就是“八隅规则”。例如:氧原子共有八个电子,其中把两个放在第一层,第二层则有六个电子。因此,为了在最外层放满八个电子,趋向于得到两个电子的方向做化学结合。

多种化学结合

原子与其他原子结合的方式各式各样。其中之一就是“共价键”。这时原子就像对着牵手似的共享彼此的电子,以此采用双赢战略,满足八隅规则。此时原子相结合而成的粒子叫做“分子”。

水的共价键

以水为例,氧的最外层有六个电子,则缺两个电子。而氢只有一个电子,缺一个。因此,氧原子和两个氢原子共享一个电子,变得稳定,构成一个分子。这相当于氧和氢各让出一个电子,从而获得了两个电子。

二氧化碳(CO₂)的情况是需要四个电子的碳原子和两个氧原子结合,共享两个电子。这时候,碳和氧的结合比水分子中的氧与氢的结合更牢固。就像彼此对着牵双手总比牵一只手更牢固一样,随着原子之间共享的电子变多,其结合的牢固度也变强。

元素中也有毫无吝惜地付出的元素。像钠、铝、铁等金属元素满足八隅规则后,轻易让出多余的电子。与此相反,像氧、氮、氯一样的非金属元素比起付出,更喜欢得到。它们之间的结合叫做“离子键”。这是指丢失电子,成为阳离子的金属元素和得到电子变成阴离子的非金属元素之间,形成静电结合。

氯化钠的离子键

通常被称为盐的氯化钠(NaCl)是代表性的离子键物质。钠把多余的一个电子让给缺一个电子的氯,从而两者结合。这时,让出电子的钠成阳离子,得到电子的氯成阴离子。其结果,两个离子之间产生电气的相吸。它们就像磁铁的正极和负极,粘在一起后,整整齐齐地叠起来,变成晶体。钠的反应性极大,以致需要存放在石油里面。而这样的钠和被使用于毒气的有毒物质氯相遇后,却成为盐。

像金或铝,是以一种原子形成的固体金属中常见的金属结合,是金属的原子让出与原子核的结合力较弱的外层电子,成为阳离子,形成有规律的排列。而脱离的电子在阳离子之间自由移动,让其维持结合。让出电子变成阳离子的原子还共享所让出的电子。

原子之间结合时,彼此共享、付出或接受电子。危险的物质结合后,反而成为无比稳定的化合物。随着结合方式不同,物质变弱或变强。在微粒子世界中,众原子通过结合,诞生出截然不同的化合物。

大部分物质只以20多种元素构成。然而,这些少数元素能结合成多种多样的化合物。据化学文摘服务社CAS,Chemical Abstracts Service记录,全地球上的化学物质多达一亿四千万种以上,每天更新一万个以上的新的化学物(2018年4月的数据)。如果考虑到还没有被发现的物质,其数量会更庞大。能创造出数不胜数的多种化学物的这微粒子世界的法则诚然神秘。

Atomic Combination

559 Views

The world is filled with matters. Just one quick look around us is enough to see how natural things such as water, air, and rocks, as well as artificial things such as plastic and vinyl are all made of matters. What will happen if we keep breaking matters into smaller pieces? If you divide them to the point that they cannot be divided anymore, it is called atom—the basic unit of matter.

A pure substance of one kind of atom is called an element. About 110 elements have been discovered, and about 90 of them are found in nature. On top of that, those that can be commonly found are only about 40.

The mystery of chemical bonding

In one theme park, there is a village that was made with small colorful blocks. It is amazing that large buildings that are considered landmarks, and cars, and even swings in the playground can be made by stacking blocks. Likewise, most of substances around us are compounds from the combination of two or more elements. Just as several types of blocks are stacked to form various shapes, atoms combine to form various compounds.

Interestingly, the properties of the compounds differ significantly from those of the constituent elements. Water molecule (H₂O) is a compound in which two hydrogen atoms and one oxygen atom meet and bond. Hydrogen (H₂), which is mainly in the form of a molecule by bonding two atoms, is a gas that is easy to burn, and is easily ignited when in contact with the air. Oxygen (O₂), which is a diatomic molecule like hydrogen, is highly reactive and so it combines directly with almost all elements. Water which is formed by bonding these two substances is normally in the state of liquid and is very stable. It is used to extinguish fire rather than burning other materials like oxygen or burning on its own like hydrogen.

Molecular model of water
Molecular model of hydrogen peroxide

A completely different substance can be made from the same kinds of atoms. When two hydrogen atoms and two oxygen atoms meet, they become hydrogen peroxide (H₂O₂) which is used as a disinfectant. Hydrogen peroxide is so unstable unlike water that it is easily decomposed into water and oxygen at room temperature.

Just as you can make various things by using the same shape and size blocks, various substances can be formed even by only one type of element. Among them, carbon is unique. Both diamond and graphite are made of only carbon, but they have completely different properties due to different bonding arrangements.

Bonding structures of diamond (left) and graphite (right)

Diamonds, in which carbon atoms are continuously bonded by forming a tetrahedral structure, are so hard that they are not only regarded as gems representing eternity, but also used for cutting or polishing materials in the industrial field. On the other hand, graphite which is in the form of stacked layers of hexagonal two-dimensional structures is used as a pencil lead because it is soft and easy to draw with.

Rules for making compounds

There are certain rules in which atoms form compounds. An atom consists of a positively charged nucleus surrounded by one or more negatively charged particles called electrons. The nucleus of an atom contains protons and neutrons. Since the number of protons and electrons contained in an atom is the same, the atom itself is electrically neutral.

Scientists assume that electrons are layered around atomic nucleus according to the energy level in order to simply distinguish the energy state that the electrons take. The layer formed by electrons is called an electron shell, and there is a designated number of electrons for each shell: 2 electrons in the first layer, 8 electrons in the second layer, and 18 electrons in the third layer.

Among them, electrons in the outermost shell participate in chemical bonding. Atoms have a tendency to have eight electrons in the last shell even if they have to lose or gain electrons to do so, and this is called the octet rule. For example, oxygen with 8 electrons contains 2 electrons in the first shell and 6 electrons in the second shell. Therefore, in order for the last shell to have 8 electrons, chemical bonding is performed to obtain 2 more electrons.

Various chemical bonds

There are various ways in which an atom combines with other atoms. One of them is the covalent bond, a win-win strategy where atoms satisfy the octet rule by sharing each other’s electrons as if they are holding each other’s hands; the particles created by the combination of atoms are called molecules.

Covalent bond of water

Take water for example. An oxygen atom, which has 6 electrons in its outermost electron shell, lacks 2 electrons and an hydrogen atom, which has one electron, lacks one. So in order to be stabilized, an oxygen atom shares the two electrons of the two hydrogen atoms in a covalent bond, and they form one molecule. Both the oxygen atom and the hydrogen atoms basically got two electrons each by sharing one electron each.

As for carbon dioxide (CO₂), the carbon atom, which requires four more electrons to be stabilized, combines with two oxygen atoms to get four electrons (two from each). The bond between carbon and oxygen is much stronger than the bond between oxygen and hydrogen in the water molecule. Just as two hands holding each other are stronger than one hand, since the number of electrons that they share are higher, its bond is stronger.

Among the elements, there are ones that like to give generously. Metals such as sodium, aluminum, and iron fulfill the octet rule and easily release their remaining electrons. Conversely, nonmetals such as oxygen, nitrogen, and chlorine prefer to receive electrons rather than to give them. The bond between them is called ionic bonding, which is an electrostatic bond in which the metal loses electrons to become a positively charged cation, whereas the nonmetal accepts those electrons to become a negatively charged anion.

Sodium chloride (NaCl), commonly referred to as salt, is a representative of ion-binding; sodium, which has one extra electron, binds with chlorine by giving the electron to the chlorine which lacks one electron. Sodium that gives the electron becomes a cation, and chlorine that receives the electron becomes an anion. As a result, an electrical attraction occurs between the two ions and they stick to each other like the north pole and the south pole of a magnet, and form crystals. Sodium, a metal that is highly reactive enough to be stored in mineral oil or kerosene, and chlorine, a toxic substance that is used as a poison gas, meet and become salt.

ionic bond of sodium chloride

Metallic bonds can be seen in solid metals composed of one type of atom, such as gold or aluminum. It is a type of chemical bond formed between positively charged atoms in which the free electrons are shared among a lattice of cations; the delocalized electrons move freely between the cations and maintain the bond.

Atoms bond by sharing or exchanging electrons. Sometimes dangerous substances come together to form a compound more stable than any other compounds, and depending on how they are combined, they become weaker or stronger. In the world of particles, atoms are compounded with one another and form completely different matters.

Most matters consist of only about 20 elements. However, when these few elements are combined together, many different compounds can be made. According to Chemical Abstract Service [CAS], there are more than 140 million chemicals on Earth, and more than 10,000 new compounds are being registered every day (as of April 2018). Given that there are still many that have not been discovered, the number of chemicals will be even more. The mystery of the micro world, which is creating an innumerable variety of compounds, is truly mysterious.