WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

要喜悦,不要发怨言

143 点击数

有人说,人一生中最常说的话就是怨言。但如果了解到上帝与我们同在并且爱着我们就没有什么好埋怨的事了。我们先看一看圣经记录中,在怨声中度过一生的人和他们的结局,揣摩一下上帝对当世的我们抱有的期望和旨意吧。

凡事谢恩是上帝的旨意

“要常常喜乐,不住地祷告,凡事谢恩,因为这是上帝在基督耶稣里向你们所定的旨意。” 帖前5章16-18节

这话语是我们熟知的上帝珍贵的话语。我们想到那永远的天国,就要行上帝的旨意。

不常常喜乐,不住地祷告,凡事谢恩,心中就会产生一种名叫埋怨的病。埋怨的传染速度远远超过喜乐和感谢,使包括个人在内的许多人灭亡。

“弟兄们,我不愿意你们不晓得,我们的祖宗从前都在云下,都从海中经过,都在云里,海里,受浸归了摩西,并且都吃了一样的灵食。也都喝了一样的灵水;所喝的,是出于随着他们的灵磐石,那磐石就是基督。但他们中间,多半是上帝不喜欢的人,所以在旷野倒毙.这些事都是我们的鉴戒,叫我们不要贪恋恶事,像他们那样贪恋的……你们也不要发怨言,像他们有发怨言的,就被灭命的所灭。他们遭遇这些事都要作为鉴戒,并且写在经上,正是警戒我们这末世的人。” 林前10章1-11节

过去,通过在逾越节显现的上帝的权能走出埃及的以色列百姓,却没有到达他们的目的地迦南;60万的壮丁全部在旷野灭亡。上帝通过这样的事件,特别警戒我们这些末世的人不要像他们一样发怨言。

过去,以色列百姓的旷野生活,是我们信心之旷野生活的影子和鉴戒。我们通过查看以色列百姓的行迹,再一次坚定我们的信心;不发怨言,凡事谢恩,过常常喜乐地向上帝归荣耀的生涯吧。

因发怨言而灭亡的历史

“摩西领以色列人从红海往前行,到了书珥的旷野,在旷野走了三天,找不着水。到了玛拉,不能喝那里的水;因为水苦,所以那地名叫玛拉。百姓就向摩西发怨言,说:我们喝什么呢?摩西呼求耶和华,耶和华指示他一棵树,他把树丢在水里,水就变甜了。耶和华在那里为他们定了律例,典章,在那里试验他们,又说:你若留意听耶和华你上帝的话,又行我眼中看为正的事,留心听我的诫命,守我一切的律例,我就不将所加与埃及人的疾病加在你身上……” 出15章22-26节

刚过红海,踏入旷野,以色列百姓就开始发怨言。他们因水苦而埋怨的虽然是摩西,实际上却和埋怨通过摩西引导百姓的上帝没什么区别。上帝区分出他们中埋怨的人和坚持忍耐的人后,把使水变甜的方法指示给了摩西。

如果上帝在他们埋怨前就把水变甜,他们之中就不会有任何人发出怨言。可上帝偏将他们搁置在只能发怨言的立场中。查看40年旷野的历史便可得知,上帝经常制造出发怨言的状况,坐观百姓们的怨言到达极点,最后才将他们所愿的路指示给他们。而每到这时,百姓们就不断地发出怨言。

“以色列全会众从以琳起行,在出埃及后第二个月十五日,到了以琳和西奈中间,汛的旷野。以色列全会众在旷野向摩西,亚伦发怨言,说:巴不得我们早死在埃及地耶和华的手下,那时我们坐在肉锅旁边,吃得饱足;你们将我们领出来,到这旷野,是要叫这全会众都饿死啊!耶和华对摩西说:我要将粮食从天降给你们,百姓可以出去,每天收每天的份,我好试验他们遵不遵我的法度。” 出16章1-4节

“众百姓发怨言,他们的恶语达到耶和华的耳中。耶和华听见了就怒气发作,使火在他们中间焚烧,直烧到营的边界。百姓向摩西哀求,摩西祈求耶和华,火就熄了……他们中间的闲杂人大起贪欲的心,以色列人又哭号说:谁给我们肉吃呢?我们记得在埃及的时候,不花钱就吃鱼,也记得有黄瓜,西瓜,韭菜,葱,蒜。现在我们的心血枯竭了,除这吗哪以外,在我们眼前并没有别的东西……” 民11章1-7节

“他们从阿珥山起行,往红海那条路走,要绕过以东地。百姓因这路难行,心中甚是烦躁,就怨上帝和摩西,说:你们为什么把我们从埃及领出来,使我们死在旷野呢?这里没有粮,没有水,我们的心厌恶这淡薄的食物。于是耶和华使火蛇进入百姓中间,蛇就咬他们,以色列人中死了许多。” 民21章4-6节

这样的圣经记录,让我们看到在旷野生活中一直埋怨上帝的以色列百姓的样子。尽管走出埃及地时他们目睹了上帝的大权能,可是刚开始旷野生活,他们就因水苦而发怨言,过了一个月,因没有粮食而发怨言,在赐与他们叫做吗哪的粮食后,又因为想吃肉而发出怨言。只要有些微不便,他们的埋怨就会倾泻而出。

他们的怨言没有就此打住。因道路难行而烦躁的百姓又发怨言说旷野只有淡薄的食物。因此,上帝使火蛇到他们中间咬他们,以示对埋怨之人的惩戒。

上帝区分发怨言的人

上帝时刻区分着埋怨上帝的人和以谢恩的心遵从上帝的旨意,坚持忍耐的人。上帝也同样会制造出各种状况给走信心之旷野路的我们,熬炼我们,用困苦和患难区分谢恩的人和埋怨的人。

每次读到因埋怨而被划分出来的旷野历史,我都不由自主地感到畏惧。如果有人时常忘记“不要发怨言”的话语,在信仰生活中持续反复地发出怨言,那么,这个人就只能在救援的队伍中落伍,淘汰。

再进一步查看旷野历史就会发现,12个窥探者窥探迦南地回来后对那地的恶评,使百姓们全部发出怨言。结果,以色列百姓的罪恶在旷野达到了极点,使除了约书亚和迦勒以外的,20岁以上的以色列壮丁队伍无一人能够踩到迦南的土地。这是因为只有迦勒和约书亚二人时刻感谢上帝,从没有发过任何怨言。(民13章1节-14章38节)

以色列百姓如果真的相信上帝,就应该在面临困难时坚持忍耐,而不是一味地埋怨。尽管当时有种种令他们不便的事情发生,但如果他们不发怨言,深入体会蕴含在其中的上帝的旨意,就一定能够确认比起埋怨有更多值得感激的事。在没有忍耐的基础上,草率地判断、草率吐露出的怨言,迅速传染给了众人,招来了60万壮丁在旷野惨遭灭亡的不幸结果。

教育我们在任何情况下都能感激的信心

上帝难道会在没想到水粮的情况下,毫无计划性地将自己的百姓引向旷野吗?发怨言只能证明没能持有对上帝的信心。如果他们相信上帝活着开展所有工作,并时刻与他们同在,就不会因为区区一点粮食和水而埋怨上帝。

人活在这个世上总会有想要埋怨和不平的事发生;但上帝所愿的并不是在顺心如意时的不埋怨,而是在不得不埋怨的情况下,也不发出怨言的信心。

断粮断水时,一个人开始埋怨,旁边的人跟着应和,然后那旁边的人再次呼应,就这样埋怨如传染病般向越来越多的人蔓延。如果埋怨之前就让他们丰足,他们之中就不会有人发出怨言。但上帝就是要先通过艰难的环境区分出埋怨的人和谢恩的人,然后才赐予解决艰难环境的方法。

在此我们可以充分地理解为什么上帝偶尔会制造一些艰难的状况搁置在子女面前了。可以说,上帝通过艰难的环境,时刻试探我们是否在实践“不要发怨言”的训诲,没能完整地实践就延长在旷野中生活的时间,完整地成就后也决不再重复同样的过程。上帝就是通过反复这种过程,教育我们拥有在任何艰难的情况下,都坚持谢恩,绝不发出怨言的信心。

谢恩的人,拥有对上帝正确的信心,因此能够在不如意的情况下发出感谢。埋怨、不平、不喜悦、不谢恩本身就意味着灵的信心之灯油已经不够了。由于信心灯油的不充足,埋怨之人只能发出不是谢恩的怨言,最终否认上帝。

埋怨的人是否认上帝的人

“这些人是私下议论,常发怨言的,随从自己的情欲而行,口中说夸大的话,为得便宜谄媚人” 犹1章16节

埋怨之人具有吐露不满,说自夸的话,谄媚等特征。我们通过上一句节来查看一下这种人属于哪类人。

“但这些人毁谤他们所不知道的。他们本性所知道的事与那没有灵性的畜类一样,在这事上竟败坏了自己。他们有祸了!因为走了该隐的道路,又为利往巴兰的错谬里直奔,并在可拉的背叛中灭亡了。” 犹1章10-11节

“因为有些人偷着进来,就是自古被定受刑罚的,是不虔诚的,将我们上帝的恩变作放纵情欲的机会,并且不认独一的主宰,我们主耶稣基督。” 犹1章4节

像该隐和可拉这样拥有坏性情的,或是像巴兰一样为了自己的工价不惜将百姓引向错谬之路的恶人都是埋怨的人,是吐露不满的人。不全然相信上帝的人常发怨言,经常吐露出不满,并会随从自己的私欲而行,口出夸大的话。他们拥有和可拉,巴兰,该隐一样的性情,和没有灵性的畜类一样,藐视上帝的权威,诽谤上帝的荣耀。

埋怨的人就是否认基督的人,可见埋怨之可怕;我们应当遵照上帝的旨意,常常喜乐,凡事谢恩,过不住祷告的生涯。即便偶尔想要埋怨,事后也一定会后悔自己因这点小事而出口埋怨,并深深领悟自己的错误。可上帝说,到那时即便是后悔也为时已晚,所以我们从今往后绝不能埋怨和不平,而要在感谢的生涯中向天国前进。

谢恩的人进迦南

埋怨深了,信心就会消失;信心消失了,我们就会失去上帝,而如果失去上帝,就会发生失去天国等一连串的不幸。请拥有面临任何困难时都能在信心中凡事谢恩,常常喜乐的心吧。只要有这种心,我们之间就不会有争吵,不会有让对方感到孤单或痛苦的事,才能彼此让对方幸福和喜悦。

有时在信心中也有人为了一句好意的忠告而火冒三丈地出口埋怨。那时不要持有同样埋怨和不满的心。只要我们忍耐,过了一段时间后,就会发觉结果往往有益于自身的信仰生活。

假设周围有一个常难为我的人。这难为我的人的言行和性情也是上帝创造的,如果把它当作是以色列百姓在40年中经历的事情中的一件,就没有任何应该埋怨的理由。上帝创造的万物都是在上帝的旨意中被创的。如果说,在所造万物中经历的一切事,都是上帝为了使子女们学到谢恩和满足并从中得到无限喜悦的旨意,我们是不是也应该履行这样的旨意,拥有能追随的品德呢?

有时上帝赐予我们艰难的环境,是在查看我们的心,希望我们在艰难的情况下,仍然能够朝正确的路走下去。我常想,是不是将埋怨和不满升华成谢恩的心,才是上帝所希望的十四万四千的品行呢?

埋怨的以色列百姓在旷野被尽数被灭。上帝希望我们通过这些过去的历史事件,在信心的旷野生活中,涂抹掉一直匿藏在我们心中的所有埋怨和不满,以及各种无法谢恩的心。不发怨言,只知谢恩的人进入了迦南;同样,在这个时代天国门也只向谢恩的人敞开。

“就要脱去你们从前行为上的旧人,这旧人是因私欲的迷惑渐渐变坏的。又要将你们的心改换一新,并且穿上新人,这新人是照着上帝的形像造的” 弗4章22-24节

我们都把至今在我们心中的旧人脱掉,在上帝里穿上新人吧。我们要照着圣灵和新妇的期望,除去不满和埋怨,以凡事满足,凡事谢恩,懂得喜乐的新人走这信心之路。在此希望各位能够安然地走完灵的旷野生活,成为进入那永远天国迦南地的锡安家族。

Do Not Grumble but Give Thanks

FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

I’ve heard that it is words of complaints that people utter most frequently throughout their lives. However, there is nothing to grumble about as long as we believe that God is with us and loves us. This time, let’s find out God’s will for us, seeing what the fate of grumblers in the Bible was.

Give thanks in all circumstances

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.1 Th 5:16-18

We are all well aware of the above passage; it is a very precious teaching of God. We must do the will of God in order to enter the eternal kingdom of heaven.

Unless we are joyful always, pray continually and give thanks in all circumstances, complaints form in our hearts. It catches on faster than joy and thanks, leading many people to destruction.

For I do not want you to be ignorant of the fact, brothers, that our forefathers were all under the cloud and that they all passed through the sea. They were all baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea. They all ate the same spiritual food and drank the same spiritual drink; for they drank from the spiritual rock that accompanied them, and that rock was Christ. Nevertheless, God was not pleased with most of them; their bodies were scattered over the desert. Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did . . . And do not grumble, as some of them did―and were killed by the destroying angel. These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come.1 Co 10:1-11

The Israelites were delivered out of Egypt by God’s mighty power displayed through the Passover, but most of them did not reach their destination, Canaan; about six hundred thousand men were all destroyed in the desert. God let this thing happen as a warning for us living at a time when the end is about to come; and He said, “Do not grumble, as some of them did.”

What happened to the Israelites in the desert was an example and shadow of what would occur to us in the desert of our faith journey. Seeing what happened to them, let us not grumble as they did, but give thanks and glory to God with joy in all circumstances.

Complaint leads to destruction

Then Moses led Israel from the Red Sea and they went into the Desert of Shur. For three days they traveled in the desert without finding water. When they came to Marah, they could not drink its water because it was bitter. (That is why the place is called Marah.) So the people grumbled against Moses, saying, “What are we to drink?” Then Moses cried out to the LORD, and the LORD showed him a piece of wood. He threw it into the water, and the water became sweet. There the LORD made a decree and a law for them, and there he tested them. He said, “If you listen carefully to the voice of the LORD your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians . . .”Ex 15:22-26

The Israelites began to grumble shortly after they passed through the Red Sea and entered the desert. They grumbled against Moses when they could not drink water because it was bitter. Ultimately their grumbling was against God who had brought them out of Egypt through Moses. God separated those with patience from those grumbling; and then He told Moses the way to make the water sweet.

If God had made the water sweet before they drank, none of them would have grumbled. Tracing the history of the Israelites’ forty years of wandering in the desert, we can see that God placed them in unfavorable circumstances first and left them to their grumbling; and when their grumbling reached the peak, He heard their complaints. Whenever the Israelites were under unfavorable conditions, they poured out complaints.

The whole Israelite community set out from Elim and came to the Desert of Sin, which is between Elim and Sinai, on the fifteenth day of the second month after they had come out of Egypt. In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the LORD’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.” Then the LORD said to Moses, “I will rain down bread from heaven for you. The people are to go out each day and gather enough for that day. In this way I will test them and see whether they will follow my instructions.”Ex 16:1-4

Now the people complained about their hardships in the hearing of the LORD, and when he heard them his anger was aroused. Then fire from the LORD burned among them and consumed some of the outskirts of the camp. When the people cried out to Moses, he prayed to the LORD and the fire died down . . . The rabble with them began to crave other food, and again the Israelites started wailing and said, “If only we had meat to eat! We remember the fish we ate in Egypt at no cost―also the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions and garlic. But now we have lost our appetite; we never see anything but this manna!” . . .Nu 11:1-7

They traveled from Mount Hor along the route to the Red Sea, to go around Edom. But the people grew impatient on the way; they spoke against God and against Moses, and said, “Why have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the desert? There is no bread! There is no water! And we detest this miserable food!” Then the LORD sent venomous snakes among them; they bit the people and many Israelites died.Nu 21:4-6

The records of the Bible mentioned above show us that the Israelites constantly grumbled against God during their desert life. Though they witnessed God’s mighty power when they came out of Egypt, they began to grumble just after they entered the desert; they grumbled for water first; after a month they grumbled for bread; and when God gave them manna, they grumbled for meat. They continually grumbled over small inconveniences.

The people grew impatient on the way, and they grumbled again, saying, “There is no bread! And we detest this miserable food!” Then God sent venomous snakes among them, and many were bitten and died. That was how God punished the grumbling people.

God separates those who give thanks from those who grumble

God always separates those who are thankful from those are not—those who consider God’s will and endure with a grateful heart from those who keep grumbling. God places us in various situations; sometimes He brings us into trials and hardships. This is how He separates those who are grateful from grumblers.

Through the desert life of the Israelites, we see God separating Himself from them. How dreadful! What if we forget God’s word―“Do not grumble”―and keep on grumbling? We will drop out of the line after all.

Think of the twelve spies. They explored the land of Canaan, and most of them spread a bad report about the land and made all the people grumble. As a result, none of the Israelite men twenty years old or more entered Canaan except Joshua and Caleb who did not grumble but always gave thanks (Nu 13:1-14:38).

If the Israelites had followed God wholeheartedly, they would have endured patiently rather than grumbled. Though they were in uncomfortable circumstances, if they had understood God’s will, they would have found there certain causes to thank God.

However, they were impatient; they were hasty in their judgment and words. Their grumbles spread to many people; as a result, about six hundred thousand men were overthrown in the desert.

God trains His people to give thanks always

Do you think that God just recklessly brought His people into the desert without bread or water? Their grumbling showed that they did not have a strong faith in God. If they had firmly believed that God was working with them, they would not have grumbled for bread or water.

Sometimes we, too, are placed in such unfavorable situations. God wants us not to grumble under any circumstances.

When there was no bread or water, one would grumble over it and another beside him would make an agreeable response; and their grumbling would spread to more and more people. Would they have complained if God had richly provided them with all they needed at the beginning?

Sometimes God placed His people under difficult circumstances to find out whether or not they would follow His teaching―“Do not grumble.” When they did not obey God, He made them wander longer in the desert. However, when they obeyed Him, He did not make them go through the same thing. In this way, God trained His people to be strong in faith.

Those who are grateful have an upright faith in God, so they can give thanks in all circumstances. What about grumblers? The fact that they grumble and complain, not being thankful or joyful, is proof that they have run out of the spiritual oil of faith. As for those who grumble, their hearts are filled with complaints rather than thanksgiving; ultimately they come to deny God.

Grumblers are deniers of God

These men are grumblers and faultfinders; they follow their own evil desires; they boast about themselves and flatter others for their own advantage.Jude 1:16

One of the characteristic of those who grumble is that they try to find fault with others, boast about themselves and flatter others for their own advantage. Let’s see what kind of people those grumblers are.

Yet these men speak abusively against whatever they do not understand; and what things they do understand by instinct, like unreasoning animals―these are the very things that destroy them. Woe to them! They have taken the way of Cain; they have rushed for profit into Balaam’s error; they have been destroyed in Korah’s rebellion.Jude 1:10-11

For certain men whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord.Jude 1:4

Those who take the way of Cain, those who follow the rebellion of Korah and rush for profit into Balaam’s error, are all grumblers and faultfinders. They do not have a sure faith in God and deny Him after all; they always grumble and blame others; they follow their own evil desires; they speak arrogantly; they despise God’s authority and slander the glorious beings, like unreasoning animals.

Grumblers deny Jesus Christ. What a terrifying thing it is to grumble! If we have any complaint now, we will regret it soon―‘Why did I grumble over such a small thing?’ Following God’s will, let us be joyful always, pray continually, and give thanks in all circumstances.

Those who are grateful can enter Canaan

When we continue to grumble, we become weak in faith. When our faith weakens, we come to forsake God; and when we forsake God, we will lose the kingdom of heaven. These unfortunate things will happen in succession. No matter what kinds of difficulties we may face, let us always have a thankful and joyful heart in our life of faith. If our hearts are only filled with joy and gratitude, there will be no quarreling among us; we will bring joy and happiness to each other rather than hurt each other’s feelings.

Sometimes, we feel angry or resentful even at our brother’s kind advice. Whenever this happens, we need to be patient instead of being displeased or discontented with it; we will soon realize that such advice is helpful for our faith.

Let us suppose that someone causes us offense or pain. There is no reason to complain about it at all; for we are now experiencing just one kind of the things that the Israelites went through in the desert. All things were created by God’s will. God wants us, His children, to learn thanksgiving and satisfaction and feel joy in everything we experience. If this is God’s will, shouldn’t we follow it?

Sometimes God puts us in difficult situations in order to know what is in our hearts; He wants us to be thankful in those situations, following the right path as believers. God wants all the 144,000 children to have a heart of thanksgiving rather than a grumbling heart.

The grumbling Israelites were all destroyed in the desert. Through such a historical event, God tells us to get rid of all complaints we have in this desert life of faith. At that time, only those who did not grumble but gave thanks to God were able to enter Canaan. In this age, too, only those who always give thanks will enter the eternal kingdom of heaven.

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.Eph 4:22-24

Let us take off the old self and put on the new self. Whatever our circumstances, let us always be content in any situation, joyful always and thankful in everything, without any complaints, just as the Spirit and the Bride want us to be. I hope all my brothers and sisters in Zion will enter the eternal heavenly Canaan, after safely going through this spiritual desert.

FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS