WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

要远离偶像

1864 点击数

偶像是魔鬼为了使我们的心远离上帝,敬拜自己而制造的有形或者无形的形像。为了不让人跟随真理制造的假教理对真理来说是偶像,从广义上来讲,使人爱某种事物大于爱上帝的都是偶像。通过此时间一起来确认一下偶像的概念吧。

1. 有形的偶像

不可为自己雕刻偶像;也不可作什么形像仿佛上天,下地和地底下,水中的百物。不可跪拜那些像;也不可侍奉它……。 出20章4-5节

上帝创造的宇宙广阔无限,以人类的知识是无法测量的,现在只不过随着科学的发展观测到了宇宙的更远处,得知了宇宙是多么广阔而已。

对人类来说,谈论上帝创造的宇宙大小是不可能的,只有根据我们人类拥有的科学知识稍微认识一下。

测量宇宙距离时主要使用的单位为“光年”。光以每秒钟约30万km/sec的速度环绕地球7圈半,光的速度被称为光速,以光速行驶1年的距离被称为光年。

宇宙中有数千亿个银河系。因为我们生活在地球,所以通常称地球所属的银河系为“我们的银河系”,把太阳与围绕太阳旋转的星群统称为“太阳系”。

太阳系距我们的银河系中心约2万8千光年,太阳系中的星群以每秒钟200km的惊人速度绕银河系周围旋转,每绕一圈大约需要2亿年。我们的银河系约有2千亿颗星,由于那些星星距离我们太遥远,所以用肉眼只能看见一颗颗闪烁的小星星。假如地球距太阳1万光年,太阳也会仅成为夜空中的一颗星,而且仅是一颗模糊的星星。

我们的银河系中心释放着相当于太阳能1百兆倍的惊人能量,因为距离太遥远,所以只能看见一片灰白色的星群。从我们的银河系这端到那端以光速行驶需要十万年,据说宇宙中有数千亿个这样的银河系。

我们正是侍奉创造这无限广阔宇宙的上帝的百姓们,这样的上帝又能以什么来比较,以什么形像来纪念呢?能以上帝创造的太阳来象征吗?还是以上帝创造的月亮来象征呢?对于上帝来说,太阳和月亮都是非常微小的存在,无论多大的银河系都只不过是上帝所造的被造物,所以不能以任何事物象征伟大的创造主上帝。唯有遵行上帝的命令才是上帝百姓们当尽的本分。

谁曾测度耶和华的心,或作他的谋士指教他呢?……看哪,万民都像水桶的一滴,又算如天平上的微尘……万民在他面前好像虚无,被他看为不及虚无,乃为虚空。你们究竟将谁比上帝,用什么形像与上帝比较呢?偶像是匠人铸造,银匠用金包裹,为它铸造银链……。 赛40章13-20节

外邦的偶像是金的,银的,是人手所造的。有口却不能言,有眼却不能看,有耳却不能听,口中也没有气息。造他的要和他一样,凡靠他的也要如此。 诗135章15-18节

2. 无形的偶像

1)教理的偶像

教理的偶像也在偶像的范畴内。上帝明明赐予了诫命,却废除上帝的诫命,以其他诫命代替遵守,这相对于真理来说就是偶像。上帝明明制定了安息日,却称星期日为是安息日,遵守这日就是在制造安息日的偶像;不遵守上帝制定的逾越节,去遵守12月25日太阳神诞生日就是在制造逾越节的偶像;还有,不遵守上帝制定的住棚节,遵守人制定的秋收感恩节就是在制造住棚节的偶像。像这样,违背上帝制定的规例,制定其他规例遵守就是制造上帝真理的偶像。

2)趣味的偶像

世上劝勉和鼓励健全的趣味生活。虽然趣味生活没什么不好,但如果妨碍和阻止我们走向天国,不就成了自己最大的偶像吗?

非常喜欢登山的人如果在向上帝献礼拜的安息日登山,登山就成了那人的偶像;喜欢足球的信心软弱的圣徒如果为了观看在安息日举行的足球赛而不参加礼拜,足球就成了他的偶像。像这样,爱某事大于爱上帝,吸引自己的心不朝向上帝的东西分明就是偶像。

但是,如果在闲暇时间适当地过趣味生活,在该向上帝献礼拜的日子献礼拜,并做福音活动的话,趣味生活是不会成为偶像的。

3)物质的偶像

贪财是万恶之根。有人贪恋钱财,就被引诱离了真道,用许多愁苦把自己刺透了。 提前6章10节

如果比起遵守上帝的诫命更重视积财,那财物就会成为让我们远离上帝的偶像。当然,我们在过肉身的生活时需要钱财,但若比起侍奉上帝更喜爱钱财,对那个灵魂来讲钱财分明就是偶像。

杀人,抢劫,偷窃等凶恶的犯罪都是因过于贪爱钱财导致的结果。若过分贪爱钱财,就不是钱财为人存在,而是人为钱财存在,因此成为偶像。

4)贪婪的偶像

所以要治死你们在地上的肢体,就如淫乱,污秽,邪情,恶欲和贪婪,贪婪就与拜偶像一样。因这些事,上帝的愤怒必临到那悖逆之子。 西3章5-6节

我们周围有很多偶像在诱惑一心仰望上帝生活的心灵们,其中之一就是贪婪。想拥有肉身上更好的东西是人类的本能,但如果这样的欲望膨胀,大于爱上帝,就成了必须要警戒的偶像。偷窃别人东西也是贪婪的结果,过分贪恋地位或者名誉也可称为偶像崇拜,地位和名誉与我们的救恩有何关系?能引导我们去天国吗?无论是什么,只要爱它大于爱上帝分明就是偶像。

因为随从肉体的人体贴肉体的事;随从圣灵的人体贴圣灵的事。体贴肉体的就是死,体贴圣灵的乃是生命平安。原来体贴肉体的,就是与上帝为仇,因为不服上帝的律法,也是不能服。 罗8章5-7节

5)人的偶像

如果爱某人胜于爱上帝,比上帝更重视,稍不留神那人就会成为自己的偶像。假设喜欢某明星大于喜欢上帝,为了追星忘记敬拜上帝的时间,或者在敬拜上帝的时间里思想被其他事情支配,那事物分明是偶像。比起上帝,更爱子女或者父母也会成为偶像,异性关系也可能成为偶像。

爱父母过于爱我的,不配作我的门徒;爱儿女过于爱我的,不配作我的门徒;不背着他的十字架跟从我的,也不配作我的门徒。得着生命的,将要失丧生命;为我失丧生命的,将要得着生命。 太10章37-39

此话语绝不是不让我们爱父母或者子女的意思,而是让我们不要因爱父母或者子女过于爱上帝而远离上帝,失去救恩。

耶稣不仅知道我们在天上的生活,还知道这时代以及死后世界的事情,所以为了让我们得祝福教导我们要最爱上帝。

如果真的爱某人,就会想方设法让那人开心,努力了解那人的关心领域。假若所爱的人对诗非常感兴趣,就会为了表示真心去书店买诗集看,这样才能在见面时谈论诗句,讨所爱之人的欢心。

同样,爱上帝就会努力做上帝喜悦的事情,也会为了成就上帝喜悦之事付出努力。

6)自我想法的偶像

虽然我们口说侍奉上帝,却常常会发生不顺从上帝的义,制定自己义的标准去行的事。如果心中总是想“上帝应该以这样的方法做工”,就会在上帝以与自己不同的方法成就,或者以与自己想法不同的方式爱人类时产生讨厌和排斥之心。像这样,比起上帝的义更想彰显自己之义的想法会成为偶像,使我们远离上帝。

从前,以色列的初代王扫罗领受上帝让杀死亚玛力人和属他们的一切之命令后出动军队,但他觉得百姓们的话比上帝的话更合理,所以只把亚玛力人和牲畜中下贱瘦弱的杀掉,将上好的羊,牛和肥壮的羔羊等好东西都留下带了回来。

扫罗王向指责自己错误的撒母耳先知狡辩说:“百姓在所当灭的物中取了最好的牛羊,要在吉甲献给耶和华你的上帝。”撒母耳先知说:“耶和华喜悦燔祭和平安祭,岂如喜悦人听从他的话呢?听命胜于献祭;顺从胜于公羊的脂油。悖逆的罪与行邪术的罪相等;顽梗的罪与拜虚神和偶像的罪相同。”(撒上15章21-23节)

悖逆上帝话语与行邪术相等,比起上帝的话语更固执自己的意见与崇拜偶像的罪相同。我们要领悟不顺从和固执就是在崇拜偶像的事实。

所以要常常准备好信心,使上帝的话语临到我们时能够顺从。只有这样,羔羊无论往哪里引导才能跟随,无法跟随羔羊的引导是因为看自己比上帝更为义。“我认为上帝应该这样做,那方法不是上帝可以采取的方法吧!”这样的想法不能让我们跟随上帝。

……他们向上帝有热心,但不是按着真知识。因为不知道上帝的义,想要立自己的义,就不服上帝的义了。罗10章2-3节

人是连眼前的事都无法预知的无知的存在,全然不知邪恶的仇敌魔鬼已经在自己认为好,即将要走的那条路上设下了陷阱和网罗。知道这一切的上帝为了让我们避开那条路所以命令回头,我们却早已认定自己的想法是正确的,听不进去上帝的话语。认为自己的想法比上帝的想法更为义,不顺从和固执地走下去,最终只能陷进魔鬼的网罗中。

不懂得上帝的义,主张自己义的行为是多么大的偶像呢?居住在上帝真理中的我们最需要警戒的偶像就是认为自己的想法和判断最为义的偶像。圣经告诉我们:“若有人以为自己知道什么,按他所当知道的,他仍是不知道。”(林前8章2节)其实我们所知道的只不过是极其微小的一部分而已,因此我们要时常谦卑。不是装作谦卑就能变得谦卑,只有领悟自己是多么不足和无知的存在才能拥有谦卑的想法和谦卑的行为。即,要认识自己,要正确地知道自己的立场,处境和现状才能正确地看到上帝。而且我们要敬畏上帝,敬畏是指恭敬和畏惧。若不畏惧上帝就会变得放肆和骄傲,心中充满偶像,远离上帝走向魔鬼。要知道如果自己变大,在自己里面做工的上帝就会变小;自己变小,在里面做工的上帝就会变大。我们都要成为无论上帝往哪里引导都能跟随的“比羔羊还小的羊”。

3. 对偶像的见解

偶像是指让我们爱某事物大于爱上帝,或者以不让我们进入天国为目的产生的一切想法与思想。

我们要时常检查自己周围是否存在使自己远离上帝的偶像要素。我们周围存在着无数个有形或者无形的偶像,因此应当打破肉眼能看见的,以教理方式存在的,以及心中所有的偶像,从而完全走向上帝。从旧约时代直到新约时代,崇拜偶像一直是上帝视为恶的行为。

……杀人的,淫乱的,行邪术的,拜偶像的和一切说谎话的,他们的份就在烧着硫磺的火湖里,这是第二次的死。 启21章8节

藉着新约重生为上帝子女的锡安百姓们要时常检查自己的周围或者心中是否存在偶像崇拜的要素,常常谨慎,努力只侍奉上帝。

我所亲爱的弟兄啊,你们要逃避拜偶像的事。我好像对明白人说的,你们要审察我的话。我们所祝福的杯,岂不是同领基督的血吗?我们所擘开的饼,岂不是同领基督的身体吗?我们虽多,仍是一个饼,一个身体,因为我们都是分受这一个饼。 林前10章14-22节

我们藉着新约逾越节与基督成为一体,成了圣灵居住的圣殿。所以保罗在写给哥林多教会的信中记录到:“上帝的殿和偶像有什么相同呢?因为我们是永生上帝的殿。”(林后6章16节)

初代教会圣徒们与使徒们关于偶像崇拜持有的思想作为末后时代我们的学习指南与鉴戒,引领我们抵达天国。如果我们里面存在偶像或者进行着崇拜偶像,上帝的圣灵就无法在我们里面居住,会离开我们,并且有恶神来支配我们。所以我们要远离偶像,作为上帝圣殿的我们如果除去所有的偶像要素,圣灵就会主管和引导我们,让我们富富有余地进入天国。

Keep Yourselves From Idols

8373 Views

An idol is an image—visible and invisible—created by the devil to make us turn away from God and worship him. A false doctrine inducing us not to follow the truth is a kind of idol; and in a broad sense, everything that we love more than God is an idol. This time, let us find out what an idol is in detail.

1. Visible images

“You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them . . .” Ex 20:4–5

The universe created by God is infinite; it cannot be even measured with human knowledge. As science has advanced, we can now observe the universe farther away, but the only thing that we have found is that it is too vast.

It is impossible for humans to measure the size of the universe. Here, let us just guess it within the scientific knowledge that we have.

We use a unit “light-year” to measure distance in the universe. Light travels at a velocity of about 300,000 ㎞ [186,000 miles] each second; in one second, it goes around the Earth seven and a half times. A light-year is the distance that light can travel in one year.

There are hundreds of billions of galaxies in the universe. The galaxy in which we live is called the “Milky Way,” and the solar system—the collection of planets in orbit around the Sun—is a part of it.

Our solar system is about 28,000 light-years away from the center of the Milky Way, and it takes 200 million years for the planets in our solar system to orbit the Milky Way galaxy at a speed of about 200 ㎞/s [125 miles/s]. There are about 200 billion stars in our galaxy, but as they are too far away from us, they appear as pinpoints and seem to twinkle to our eyes. If the Sun were 10,000 light-years away from the Earth, it would be like one among many stars in the night sky—a dim one.

The center of our galaxy is emitting energy 100 trillion times more powerful than the Sun. As it is too far away from us, however, it only looks like a faint cluster of stars. It would take 100,000 light-years to travel from one end of our galaxy to another; there are hundreds of billions of galaxies in the universe.

God created this immense universe, and we are people who worship God the Creator. How can we compare God to something and make a certain image for Him? Can the Sun created by God symbolize God? Or can God be likened to the Moon, His creation? The Sun or the Moon is nothing to God. Even an immense galaxy is no more than God’s creation. Almighty God the Creator can never be symbolized by anything, and the only duty of God’s people is to follow His commandments.

Who has understood the mind of the LORD, or instructed him as his counselor? . . . Surely the nations are like a drop in a bucket; they are regarded as dust on the scales . . . Before him all the nations are as nothing; they are regarded by him as worthless and less than nothing. To whom, then, will you compare God? What image will you compare him to? As for an idol, a craftsman casts it, and a goldsmith overlays it with gold and fashions silver chains for it. Isa 40:13–19

The idols of the nations are silver and gold, made by the hands of men. They have mouths, but cannot speak, eyes, but they cannot see; they have ears, but cannot hear, nor is there breath in their mouths. Those who make them will be like them, and so will all who trust in them. Ps 135:15–18

2. Invisible idols

1) Doctrines

Among invisible idols, there are doctrines that are different from God’s commandments. God gave us His commandments. If people do not keep the commandments of God but keep other doctrines, it will be idolatry. For example, God established the Sabbath, but if people keep Sunday, calling it Sabbath, it is idolatry violating the Sabbath. God also established the Passover, but if people do not celebrate the Passover but December 25—the birthday of the sun-god, it is idolatry violating the Passover. God established the Feast of Tabernacles, too, but if people reject the Feast of Tabernacles and keep the man-made Thanksgiving Day, it is idolatry violating the Feast of Tabernacles. Breaking God’s commandments and celebrating man-made rules is idolatry against the commandments of God.

2) Hobbies

In the world, people are encouraged to have healthy hobbies. It is good to have hobbies only if they do not stand in our way to the kingdom of heaven. If they stop our way, however, they are idols more appealing to us than God.

Suppose a person who loves hiking goes hiking on the Sabbath, the day of worship to God. To him, hiking is an idol. If a member who is weak in faith does not attend worship to watch a soccer game on the Sabbath, soccer is an idol to him. Everything that one loves more than God—more attractive to him than God—is definitely an idol.

But appropriate leisure activities of those who worship God on the days of worship and do the gospel work are not idols to them.

3) Material things

For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. 1 Ti 6:10

To people who think it is more important to earn money than to keep God’s commands, money is an idol causing them to stray away from God. Of course, we need money to live on the earth, but if a person is overfond of money and loves money more than God, money is surely an idol to that person.

Murder, robbery, theft and every kind of heinous crimes result from love of money. When people love money, they put it before people; they mistakenly believe that people exist for money, not money for people, and this is a kind of idolatry.

4) Greed

Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. Col 3:5–6

Various types of idols lure us away from being faithful to God, and one of them is greed. Seeking better things is a part of human instinct. Nevertheless, we have to be on our guard against following that instinct excessively; if we love to do it more than loving God, it is idolatry. Stealing other people’s things is a result of following greed, and having an obsession with high social position and respect is a kind of idolatry. Do they have anything to do with salvation? Can they lead us to the kingdom of heaven? Whatever we love more than God is an idol.

Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Ro 8:5–7

5) Persons

If a person loves someone more than he loves God, that person is an idol to him. To a person who likes celebrities and loves to go and see them, even forgetting the time to worship God, or is occupied with the thought of them during worship, it is certainly an idol to him. One’s children, parents, husband, or wife can be an idol if he or she loves them more than God.

“Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” Mt 10:37–39

This does not mean that we should not love our parents and children, but that we ought not to love our parents and children more than God, which causes us to stray from God and fail to be saved.

As Jesus knows everything—our life in heaven, on earth, and in the afterlife, He has taught us to love God most so that we can be blessed.

If you love someone, you will want to please him and try to know what he is interested in. If he likes poems, you will go to a bookstore and buy a book of poems to read it. That is because you want to talk with him about poems to win his heart.

Likewise, if we love God, we will try to do what pleases God and to accomplish what God wants us to do.

6) Our own thoughts

Although we claim to serve God, we tend to do things according to our own thoughts, rather than following God’s will. When we cling to the thought, ‘God must work this way,’ it leads us to reject God when He works and loves humans in a way different from our own thoughts. The reason we cling to our own thoughts is that we regard ourselves as more righteous than God—this is idolatry that makes us stray away from God.

Saul, the first king of Israel, was commanded by God and sent his troops to destroy the Amalekites and everything that belonged to them. Saul thought that the words of people made more sense than the word of God; he destroyed the Amalekites and the livestock that were despised and weak, but spared the best of the sheep and cattle, the fat calves and lambs—everything that was good.

When Samuel pointed out his fault, he made an excuse, saying, “The soldiers took sheep and cattle from the plunder, the best of what was devoted to God, in order to sacrifice them to the LORD your God at Gilgal.” Then the prophet Samuel said, “Does the LORD delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the LORD? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams. For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry” (1 Sa 15:21–23).

God has taught us that disobeying God’s words is like the sin of divination, and insisting on our own thoughts rather than following God’s words like the evil of idolatry. We should know that being disobedient and stubborn is committing idolatry.

Only when we have faith to obey God’s words can we follow the Lamb wherever He goes. Being unable to follow the Lamb wherever He leads us means that we regard ourselves as more righteous than God. ‘I think God should do it this way. He isn’t supposed to do it that way, is He?’ If we have this kind of thought, we cannot follow God.

. . . they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge. Since they did not know the righteousness that comes from God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness. Ro 10:2–3

We, as humans, are so ignorant that we cannot foresee what will happen even a moment later. We do not know if the devil, our wicked enemy, set a trap and snare for us on the way we go because it looks good. Suppose that God, who knows everything, commands us to take a detour. If we have already decided to follow our own way, thinking it is right, we cannot heed God’s words anymore. While thinking that our own thoughts are more righteous than God’s and insisting on our way, we come to fall into the devil’s trap.

It is severe idolatry to insist on our own righteousness without knowing God’s righteousness. The idol that we, who abide in the truth of God, should guard against most is considering our own thoughts and judgments as the most righteous. It is written, “The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know” (1 Co 8:2). Actually, what we understand is very little. Therefore, we must always be humble. We do not become humble just by pretending to be modest; we can think humbly and behave humbly when we realize how weak and ignorant we are. In other words, we need to know ourselves. We are able to see God rightly when we know our position, situation, and condition. Also, we must fear God. To fear God means to respect God with awe. If we do not fear God, we become impudent and arrogant. Then our minds are filled with idols, and we will stray from God and get closer to the devil. God works in us; if we think ourselves great, we come to make God small, and if we think ourselves small, we make God great again. Keeping this in mind, we should become “lambs smaller than the Lamb” so that we can follow wherever God leads us.

3. Views on idols

Idols are all things that we love more than God as well as ideas and thoughts that prevent us from entering the kingdom of heaven.

We should always be on guard against idolatrous things around us, which distance us from God. There are various kinds of idols both visible and invisible; they can be doctrines or things in our minds. Let us remove them all and be faithful to God. Idolatry is a wicked act in God’s eyes throughout the Old and New Testaments.

“. . . the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars—their place will be in the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death.” Rev 21:8

The people of Zion, who have become God’s children through the new covenant, should continuously guard against idols around us or in our hearts, being always self-controlled and serving God alone.

Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry. I speak to sensible people; judge for yourselves what I say. Is not the cup of thanksgiving for which we give thanks a participation in the blood of Christ? And is not the bread that we break a participation in the body of Christ? Because there is one loaf, we, who are many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf. 1 Co 10:14–17

We have become one body in Christ through the Passover of the new covenant; we are now the temple where the Holy Spirit dwells. Therefore, Paul said in his letter to the Church in Corinth, “What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God” (2 Co 6:16).

The views on idols, which the apostles and the saints of the early Church held, serve as a guide to heaven and an example for us who are living in the last days. When we have idols in our hearts or worship them, the Holy Spirit cannot dwell in us; when the Holy Spirit leaves us, the evil spirit dominates our soul. We must keep ourselves from idols. When we remove all idols from us—the temple of God, the Holy Spirit will guide us so that we can become worthy enough to enter the kingdom of heaven.