WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

母亲声音中隐藏的奥秘

195 点击数
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

患有先天耳聋的孩子,第一次听到妈妈的声音后哭泣的视频成为了热门话题。借助特殊助听器,平生第一次听到妈妈柔和的声音时,孩子时而微笑时而抿嘴忍住眼泪。究竟孩子是否能够记住,在母胎里听到的妈妈的声音呢?

胎儿也能听到声音

直到19世纪末,胎儿不具备听觉的思想,支配着当时的西方国家。但到了1925年,德国医生阿尔布雷希特·派弗,发现胎儿在汽车鸣笛声下有所反应,由此证明胎儿也能听到声音。

以胚胎学来看,怀孕4周时能够看到胎儿耳朵形成部位;到24周,会形成内耳1。神经系统也在胎儿初期开始发育,到34周时,会具备与新生儿媲美的听觉神经。

1. 内耳:耳朵最内侧。由负责听力的耳蜗、感知平衡的前庭器官以及半规管组成。

在妈妈的子宫内度过10个月的期间,胎儿会暴露在心跳、肠蠕动、血流动等在妈妈体内产生的各种各样的声音中。还会听到比妈妈心跳快两倍的自己的心跳声,还有胎动声。此外,倾听着汽车声、音乐声等外部发出的各种声音下成长。

能够发现,被什么吓哭的新生儿,若给他听电视无信号时的嘶嘶噪声,孩子能够马上停止哭泣并安静下来。有些父母说,给孩子听吸尘器的声音,哭的孩子能够得到安定,又说听到塑料袋的哗啦声,孩子立马流露出明朗的表情。这是因为,外部声音在透过妈妈的子宫壁和羊水的过程中,小声音和高音全部被过滤掉,只有固定低频率的低音传达给了胎儿。这种胎内经历,使胎儿更加熟悉柔和的低音。

听觉与胎儿的脑发育

人类大脑的智力,由连接神经细胞的突触,其精确地发育程度来决定。怀孕6个月时,胎儿的大脑中每天会形成6千万个脑细胞,以惊人的程度进行发育。就在这时期,胎儿大脑的80%以上已形成,并能够听到外部的声音。并且达到8个月时,会形成短期记忆,甚至能够达到区分声音强弱的水平。还能够通过妈妈的声音大小,判断出情绪。像这样,在五感中,在母腹中最为发达的就是听觉系统,并且此与胎儿的脑发育有着密切的关系。

科学家们说,胎儿通过看、听、触碰而感受到的各种刺激,会为脑细胞成长提供能量。其中,听觉刺激占比80%以上,而声音或音乐不仅影响情绪,还会影响到胎儿的身体智力发育。胎儿在胎内经历的声音,是通过胎儿的听觉器官,影响脑细胞的最早期刺激,而录入到胎儿大脑中的这声音,将会铭刻在胎儿的记忆中,一辈子伴随在他的无意识里。

胎儿在子宫里听到的最多的声音,就是妈妈的心跳声。新西兰奥克兰大学的艾伯特·莉莉博士,用节拍器做了一项有趣的实验。他给实验者们节拍器,让他们根据自己喜欢的节奏打拍子,可惊人的是,大部分人的拍子达到每分钟50-90次。这个数字与人的心跳数基本一致。

正哭的孩子,到妈妈的怀里就能停止哭泣,也是因为通过妈妈的胸口听到妈妈的心跳声。这种声音是在子宫内开始就持续听到的亲切的声音。在这时,若听到妈妈的“睡吧睡吧”的声音,孩子会更快得到安定。

刺激听觉的众多声音中,胎儿最喜欢的就是妈妈的声音。妈妈的舒适的声音,会刺激胎儿神经突触很好地发育。刚出生连眼睛都睁不开的婴儿,会向着妈妈发出声音的方向做出反应,是因为他能记得在母胎中听过的妈妈的声音。怀孕期间,也不断地听到了爸爸的声音,他也会对爸爸的声音做出反应。

通过与妈妈的交流成长的孩子

2016年斯坦福医科大学研究团队,以7-12岁的24名儿童为研究对象,通过核磁共振成像(MRI),分析他们在听到妈妈的声音时,大脑哪个区域被激活。研究团队将妈妈的声音与普通女性的声音录音后给孩子们听。为了确保研究客观性,让说话者们不要说孩子的名字,而是说无关紧要的单词。结果,97%的孩子,在短短一秒内,辨认出了自己妈妈的声音。

听到妈妈的声音后,大脑最活跃的部分是初级听皮层和前额皮质。初级听皮层被刺激的同时,情感、人际关系、面部识别等能力会提升。前额皮质是感知周围环境变化的器官,主要是帮助人们对周围的声音做出反应,并掌握新的信息。另外,前额皮质会在保持理性,提升自制力上做出贡献。带动研究的丹尼尔·艾布拉姆斯教授说:“与妈妈在一起的时间越多,越能帮助孩子提升沟通技巧,形成圆满的人际关系。”

妈妈的声音还能促进孩子分泌稳定情绪的荷尔蒙。威斯康星大学心理学教授塞斯·波拉克,让7至12岁的61名女孩子做数学题,使她们处在感受压力的情况中,之后将他们分成三组做了实验。让第一组孩子们与妈妈面对面对话15分钟;第二组与妈妈打电话通话15分钟之后,看60分钟的电影。第三组不与妈妈接触,直接看75分钟电影。之后观察他们感受压力时分泌出的荷尔蒙——皮质醇,以及感受幸福时分泌的催产素的变化。

实验结果表明,直接或间接与妈妈对话的孩子,与没能如此的孩子之间,有明显的差异。听到妈妈声音的孩子们,在结束考试后30分钟内,皮质醇急剧下降,而催产素上升并持续了一个小时之久。只观看电影的的孩子们的荷尔蒙分泌量,一直停留在感受压力时的状态。这是在表明,没有身体接触,而是只听到妈妈声音,也能够减轻压力。对于孩子来说,妈妈的声音是带来平静的最好礼物。

婴孩能够清晰地记住,在妈妈肚子里开始听到的妈妈温暖的声音。并且听着那温暖的声音成长。蕴含在妈妈声音中的力量和能力,实在是惊人又神奇。从生命的开始就相伴的妈妈的声音,充满了子女才能感受且得到安慰的,温暖的母亲之爱。

使你们在她安慰的怀中吃奶得饱……母亲怎样安慰儿子,我就照样安慰你们,你们也必因耶路撒冷得安慰。 赛66章11-13节

我的羊听我的声音,我也认识他们,他们也跟着我。 约10章27节

参考资料
郑京姬·朴孝美,《胎儿交流》,交流手册,2014
徐宥宪,《安静的声音对胎儿有好处》,东亚日报,2000

March 11, 2021

Secrets Contained in Mom’s Voice

1581 Views
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

A video about a baby, who was born profoundly deaf, hearing her mom’s voice for the first time and being almost moved to tears, went viral. Hearing her mom’s soft voice for the first time with the help of special hearing aids, the baby smiled and also pouted almost in tears. Does she remember her mom’s voice that she heard in the womb?

Fetuses can hear

Until the end of the 19th century, people thought fetuses don’t have a hearing ability. However, in 1925, it was proven that fetuses cana hear as Albrecht Peiper, a German doctor, discovered that fetuses respond to a car horn.

By week 4 of pregnancy, the parts where ears are going to be formed begin to show on an embryo, and the inner ear1 is completed by week 24. The nervous system starts developing in the beginning fetal stage, and by week 34 a fetus has the auditory nerve, comparable with that of a newborn.

1. Inner ear: the innermost part of the ear. The inner ear is made of three parts: the cochlea which is the auditory area, the semicircular canals and the vestibule which sense balance.

While being in the mom’s womb for nine months, a fetus is exposed to various kinds of noises made inside the mom’s body such as her heartbeat, bowel movement, and blood flow. The fetus can also hear their own heartbeat which is about twice faster than their mom’s, and the sound of their fetal movement. The fetus also hears the noises from the outside such as cars and music while growing up.

When newborn babies get startled and cry, static sound from a blank channel on TV calms them down and they stop crying quickly. Some parents say that vacuum cleaner sound calm their babies down, and some say that the rustling sound of a plastic bag made their babies smile again. This is because while the noises from the outside pass through the mom’s uterine walls and amniotic fluid, quiet noises or high-pitched sounds are filtered and only constant low-pitched sounds in low frequency are delivered to the fetus. Due to these experiences inside the womb, babies are more accustomed to low sounds.

Hearing and fetal brain development

Intelligence is determined, depending on how elaborately synapses develop to connect neurons in the brain. In about the sixth month of pregnancy, the fetal brain’s development speeds up to where about 60 million brain cells are made every day. Over 80% of the fetal brain is already completed, and the fetus can hear noises from outside of the womb. And by the eighth month of pregnancy, short-term memories begin to be formed, and the fetus can distinguish the intensity of sounds. They can even tell what mood their mom is in by distinguishing the intensity of the mom’s voice. Like this, among the five senses, hearing develops most in the womb before birth, and it is closely related to the fetal brain development.

Scientists say that a fetus’ various sensational stimulations that they see, hear, and feel provide energy for the growth of the brain cells. Among them, stimulations from hearing take up over 80% of all, and sounds or music influence the development of a fetus’ body and intelligence, not only emotional development. The noises that a fetus experiences inside the womb become the first stimulation that influences the brain cells through the fetal auditory organ, and the noises that enter the fetal brain are clearly engraved in their memories.

The noise a fetus hears most in the womb is their mom’s heartbeat. Dr. William Liley at Auckland University in New Zealand had an interesting experiment by using a metronome. When the subjects were given a metronome and asked to set it at the beat that they like, amazingly most people set it at 50 to 90 times per minute. This almost matches human heartbeat rate.

The reason a crying baby stops crying when placed on their mom’s chest is because of the heartbeat of the mom that he hears through her chest. This is a familiar noise that he constantly heard in the womb. On top of this, if the baby hears the mom’s voice singing a lullaby, he finds comfort even more easily.

Among many factors that stimulate hearing, what a fetus likes the most is the mom’s voice. The mom’s calm voice is a good stimulus that develops the fetus’ synapses. Newborn babies who cannot even open their eyes yet show response toward the direction where their mom’s voice is heard, because they remember the voice that they heard while they were in the womb. If they also constantly heard the dad’s voice while they were in the womb, they will show response to their dad’s voice, too.

Babies grow by bonding with mom

In 2016, the researchers of Stanford Medical School analyzed MRIs of 24 children between ages 7 and 12 to see which part of the brain becomes active when they hear their mom’s voice. The research team recorded their mom’s voice and the voices of unfamiliar women of the same age range, and had the children listen to them. For objectivity, they had the narrators say random words other than their children’s names. As a result, 97% of the children recognized their mom’s voice in one second.

The part of the brain that became most active when they heard their mom’s voice was the primary auditory cortex and the prefrontal cortex. When the primary auditory cortex is stimulated, abilities such as emotions, social skills, and face recognition improve. The prefrontal cortex is a brain region that recognizes changes in surroundings, which helps react to the surrounding sounds and take in new information. Also, the prefrontal cortex is known to contribute to the improvement of self-control by controlling reason. The study lead author, PhD Daniel Abrams, said, “Increasing the time spent with the mom can help improve communication skills and social skills.”

Mom’s voice accelerated the secretion of hormones that give emotional stabilization. Seth Pollak, Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, put 61 girls between 7 and 12 years of age in a stressful situation where they had to solve math problems, divided them into three groups, and had an experiment. The first group had a face-to-face talk with their moms for about 15 minutes; the second group watched a movie for 60 minutes after having a talk on the phone with their moms for about 15 minutes; and the third group just watched a movie for 75 minutes without any contact with their moms. Then, he watched the changes of cortisols which respond to stress and the changes of oxytocins which make one feel happy.

As a result of the experiment, there was a distinctive difference between the children who had conversation with their mom directly or indirectly and those who didn’t. As for the children who heard their mom’ voice, the secretion of cortisols decreased rapidly within 30 minutes after the exam, and the amount of the secretion of oxytocins maintained for one hour. As for the children who watched a movie without having talked with their mom, the amount of secretion of the hormones stayed the same as they were stressed. This shows that even just talking with mom without physical contact decreased the level of stress. To children, their mom’s voice gives more comfort than anything else.

Babies clearly remember the soft voices of their moms that they heard in the womb. And they grow up, hearing the soft voices. The power and strength contained in the mom’s voice is truly amazing and mysterious. The mom’s voice, which was always there for the child from the beginning of their life, contains the mom’s love which only the child can feel and be comforted by.

“For you will nurse and be satisfied at her comforting breasts; you will drink deeply and delight in her overflowing abundance.” … “As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you; and you will be comforted over Jerusalem.” Isa 66:11–13

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.” Jn 10:27

Reference
“Fetal Communication” by Jeong Gyeong-hee and Park Hyo-mi, Communication Books, 2014
“A Calm Voice is Good for Fetus” by Seo Yu-heon, Donga Ilbo, 2000
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS