WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

用合作与牺牲建立起来的蚂蚁王国

305 点击数
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

它不仅出现在路边,树皮周围和学校操场,虽不情愿,甚至在家里也能看到它的身影,那就是蚂蚁。因为它是生活中常见的小昆虫,往往会受到人们忽视,但别看它不起眼,蚂蚁可是从中生代白垩纪开始就在地球上生活了,历史可谓相当悠久。

像巨天牛、蜣螂等蚂蚁的远亲都面临着灭绝危机1,但蚂蚁在地球上繁殖的数量至少达1京只左右。据说有记载的蚂蚁种类约有5千种,若加上未被记载的种类,就多达1万5千种。所以它并不是因体格小就可以被忽视的存在。爱德华·威尔逊等生物学家们毫不犹豫地说,蚂蚁是“地球的征服者”、“地球的支配者”。

1. 环境部,2018年濒临灭绝危机的野生生物目录变化现状。

蚂蚁如此繁盛的秘诀是什么呢?让我们一起走进日常生活中常被忽视的蚂蚁们的世界一探究竟吧。

蚂蚁的分工制度

假设你是蚂蚁王国的一只蚂蚁。在平静的日子里,突然有敌人横闯洞口,大肆搅乱了栖息地。这时应采取怎样的行动呢?这取决于你是哪种蚂蚁。因为所有蚂蚁都有明确的分工。蚂蚁繁盛的原因,也要归功于它们分工合作所产生的庞大力量。

在蚂蚁社会中,最引人注目的是它们的繁殖分工。只有作为繁殖阶级的蚁后负责产卵,而身为劳动阶级的工蚁们会负责其余的一切工作。公主蚁(也就是准蚁后)同雄蚁一样,会度过一段为婚飞2储备力量的时期。

2. 在一定的气象条件下,像蜜蜂、蚂蚁之类的雄性与蜂后或蚁后齐飞交配的事。

有些蚂蚁劳动一辈子,有些则是吃饱就离开家,如此奇特的分工貌似不公平,但这在凶险的生态环境中是相当经济的生存方式。其他独自完成生产、育儿、喂食的动物们,直到培育出新一代,会历经漫长时间,风险也很大。相反,蚂蚁们则是分阶段迅速处理各自分担的工作,因此能够使效率最大化。况且同一项工作由众多蚂蚁同时进行,就算哪里出了问题,也不会影响总体进程。这如同工厂的流水线。不禁感叹,这小小的身躯中怎会生出如此惊人的智慧。

就如经营一个家庭也需要做很多事,蚂蚁王国的工人们也有许多事情要做。工蚁们是如何分担那么多工作的呢?虽然不同种类的蚂蚁有所区别,但一般都会随着年龄的增长,负责不同类型的工作。很小的时候,会在蚁后身边打杂,稍微长大后则照看卵或小幼虫。到了青年期就作为保姆工蚁开始正式照顾大幼虫和蛹。进入壮年期时从洞穴外寻找食物或挖新的洞穴,继续担任工蚁的职责。此外还有比工蚁体型更大且头和上颚发达的兵蚁。兵蚁正如其名,是保护王国、防备敌人的强壮的士兵。

照看虫卵的工蚁
切割并搬运树叶的切叶蚁

比人类更早开始种植的切叶蚁,将分工做到了极致。用切割的树叶来种植蘑菇的切叶蚁中的工蚁们,从出生开始就分为四个阶级。体型最大的蚂蚁为兵蚁;体型最小的蚂蚁是照顾幼虫和菌托的园丁蚁。中型蚂蚁负责切割和运输种植所需的树叶,而比这稍小的蚂蚁作为哨兵粘在叶子上,负责护卫中型蚂蚁不被寄生蝇攻击。神奇的是,所有蚂蚁都忠实于与生俱来的使命,而且由此发挥的力量更为惊人。一个切叶蚁群挖采的土量平均为20立方米,其重量大概是44吨。拿人来作比方,相当于堆砌万里长城,因此相对这微小的躯体来说,真是惊人的威力。

蚂蚁们的分工体系,在危机时刻更显卓越。重新设想一下前面提到的状况吧。若你是兵蚁就会攻击入侵者;若是保姆工蚁就会叼起幼虫将其隐藏在安全地带。你也有可能是一只修理破损蚁巢的工蚁。像这样,在蚂蚁们的社会中,各尽其职就是团结成一体之路,也是保护成员的生存之路。

为群落做出的牺牲

大部分工蚁们会为了群落尽职尽责地工作,也有些担负比较特别任务的蚂蚁,会超越忠心,展现美丽牺牲的一面。

蜜罐蚁

生活在美国西南部和澳大利亚沙漠地带的蜜罐蚁就是其中一类。让人联想到著名角色的这特别的名字,貌似源于一些工蚁的角色。它们将同伴们带来的蜜储存在蚁腹中,并倒吊在洞顶。勤劳的工蚁们不断地取来蜜,而贮存蜜的工蚁们的肚子会被撑到比头大好几倍。在难以支撑身体的时候,终于有蚂蚁来触碰了触角。这是同伴发出的“饥饿”信号。这时就会临时下来,把贮存的蜜喂给它。这是为了能在长期缺少食物和水的沙漠存活下来,献出自己的身体作食物储存室的行为。

在大树上钻洞生活的龟蚁,为了完美地防御那些虎视眈眈觊觎蚂蚁王国的入侵者,身体还发生了进化。龟蚁中的兵蚁拥有扁平的头部,它们用头部将洞口堵得严严实实,终日站岗守护。若洞口太大,就会有好几只蚂蚁紧贴着守住洞口。同群落的蚂蚁用触角触碰,就给开门,但绝对不给其他蚂蚁开门。日复一日地坚守在同一个岗位上,那忠心真是了不起。

生活在马来西亚带雨林的木蚁中的兵蚁,展示出了极致的牺牲精神。有些蚂蚁在受到攻击时会使用毒液,木蚁就是其中之一。其他蚂蚁用毒针向敌人注射毒液,但与此相反,木蚁会使用“自我牺牲”的独特攻击方式。那就是爆破自己装有毒液的蚁腹。爆破出来的粘稠的毒液会粘住周围的敌人,而自己也结束了生命。

工蚁们的献身

巩固蚂蚁王国的第一步,取决于首批出生的工蚁与蚁后的关系维持得有多么紧密。结束婚飞后,成为只身一人的初代蚁后,为了更快更安全地养育幼虫,不出门也不进食。这时,最先成长起来的工蚁,就要勤劳地觅食并喂给蚁后。若首批工蚁死了,蚁后就会因持续不断地产卵及能量消耗,最终丧命。而后其余的工蚁们也支撑不了多久就会死去。像这样,初期的工蚁和蚁后有着密不可分的关系。

不仅是蚁后,所有蚂蚁直到成长为真正的成蚁为止,都需要工蚁姐妹们源源不断地帮助。刚从卵里孵化出来的幼虫没有腿,也没有行动能力。工蚁姐姐用嘴叼住在原地微微颤动的幼小弟妹们,帮助他们移动,并给他们喂食。进化为成虫,需要蜕皮时,也因自身力量无法撕开厚皮,而由工蚁在外边帮着撕开。这样成长起来的工蚁们,又开始照顾下一批工蚁。在这里能够看到奉献一生的工蚁姐妹们对后代的爱。

伊索寓言《蚂蚁和蚱蜢》中的蚂蚁,没有吃喝享乐或在树荫下休闲,而是为了贮存丰足的粮食,殷勤劳动的昆虫。实际上蚂蚁们不会冬眠,因此要在夏季储备充足的粮食。虽然在寓言中没有特别描写这个部分,但工蚁们离家觅食并不是简单的事。分布在美国西部的收获蚁属科的收割机蚁,在觅食时经常与附近的蚂蚁们争斗。在为占领更好的食物而展开的激烈争战中,每小时会有6%的蚂蚁战死。此外还有很多蚂蚁在觅食途中因遭受捕食者的袭击或迷路而死。

除了物种特性上的特殊情况外,所有工蚁都是从一个蚁后生出来的女儿们。它们放弃生育自己的后代,一生只为帮助母亲和弟妹们而尽职工作。也许“工蚁”的称呼正是由此得名。从生物学角度的本性来看,动物们都是为了留下自己的遗传基因而特别致力于繁殖,由此看来工蚁们的献身精神达到了超越本性的水平。

蚂蚁王国的核心,蚁后

蚂蚁王国的最高统治者是蚁后。也许会因为带着“女王”的称号,而误解为只下命令的独裁者,但看蚁后的实际生活并非如此。

一只公主蚁从试图成为蚁后的那一刻开始,就伴随着数千只蚂蚁的死亡。一直等待着繁殖期的公主蚁和雄蚁们,会为了寻找配偶而爬行或飞行。然而像鸟、蜻蜓这类的捕食者们,也在伺机等候着食物成群飞来的这时期。很遗憾,大部分蚂蚁们会在此过程中被吃掉,或掉入水中死去。

用积蓄的能量迅速飞行而存活下来的新蚁后,还有另一道关卡在等待着它。那就是避开捕食者的视线,在适宜的场所安家。然而在林中的枯树、城市的小巷直到小区停车场,很难找到没有蚂蚁生活的地方。好不容易降落后发现,不慎闯入了已经有主人的地盘,就会连产卵的机会都没有而牺牲,这样的情况也比比皆是。不同种类的蚂蚁有所不同,一般来说蚁后成功建立王国的概率是500-10000只中之一。

历经艰辛落脚的蚁后,首先用中足和后足摘掉翅膀。在还没有工蚁,出去觅食也很危险的时期,将再无用武之地的翅膀肌肉或腹部的脂肪组织分解制造养分。像这样用自身制造的分泌物,通过唾腺喂给幼虫。这与只顾进食、无所事事的公主蚁时期完全相反。随着工蚁数量的增多,蚁后终于可以从育儿的工作中腾出身来,然而因为一直没有进食,已是筋疲力尽。从此以后,吃着工蚁们带来的食物,终其一生竭力完成繁殖任务。

乍看蚁后,似乎是受着侍奉安逸度日,然而终其一生只为产卵繁衍的那模样何其可怜。虽被称作蚁后,却不是凌驾于百姓之上的王。而是亲自建立并操持家室;为养活幼崽,献其一生的母亲。

如此建立起来的蚂蚁王国,会一直延续到蚁后寿命完结,最后的工蚁完成工作为止。那期间会有众多公主蚁和雄蚁出生,展开生存竞争。若它们成功,就能再建立起一个了不起的蚂蚁王国。

包括人类在内,在如今的地球生态系统中能够成功立足的生物们,都是建立高度发达体系的社会性动物。有组织的分工,为了生存的而激烈斗争等,蚂蚁社会与人类社会有着太多的相似之处。从中生代直到今日,一直伴随着蚂蚁种群的合作与牺牲精神,这是不是我们人类也要效仿的一面呢?

懒惰人哪,你去察看蚂蚁的动作,就可得智慧。蚂蚁没有元帅,没有官长,没有君王,尚且在夏天预备食物,在收割时聚敛粮食。 箴6章6-8节

参考
崔在川,《发现蚂蚁帝国》,科学书籍,1999。
韦尔特·维尔多布勒、爱德华·威尔逊,《蚂蚁世界之旅》,李秉勋(译),凡阳社,1996。
南相浩,《人类社会的缩小版蚂蚁世界》,《东亚科学》1994年09期。

May 10, 2021

The Kingdom of Ants Built through Teamwork and Sacrifice

1521 Views
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

There are insects that we easily see when we look down while walking down the street. They are ants; they are found not only in streets, but also near tree barks, in playgrounds, and unfortunately in houses, too. Some people take them lightly, because they are small insects that are easily spotted all around us, but little do they know that ants have been living on earth from time immemorial—since the Cretaceous, the last period of the Mesozoic era.

While callipogon relictus and dung beetles—distant relatives of ants—are endangered1, ants have become so prosperous that the total number of ants on earth is estimated to be ten quadrillion. There are about 15,000 species of ants, with about 5,000 species recorded and many species still uncovered. Therefore, they must not be looked down upon because they are small. Biologists, including Edward Osborne, say without hesitation, “Ants are conquerors of Earth,” “Ants are rulers of Earth.”

1. The Ministry of Environment of Korea, 2018 List of Endangered Species.

What is the secret hidden how ants have flourished so greatly? Now let’s take a journey into the world of ants, which we may have paid no attention to.

Division of Labor among Ants

Let’s suppose you are an ant in the kingdom of ants. You are enjoying your peaceful day when suddenly an enemy breaks in and starts destroying things in your house. What action would you have to take in this situation? It would depend on what kind of ant you are. It is because all ants have certain duties entrusted to them. The reason why ants have flourished so greatly is thanks to the tremendous power gained through the division of labor among them.

The most noticeable characteristic in the society of ants is a division of labor. Only the queen ants, the reproductive females, lay eggs, and worker ants, the working females, share all the other necessary work. Princess ants, future queens, spend their time reserving energy for nuptial flight2 just like male ants.

2. A phase during which a queen bee or a queen ant flies up together with male honeybees or ants and mate under certain weather conditions.

This division of labor is so unique; some work all their lives, and some only eat until they leave their house. Although it seems unfair, it is very economical for their survival in the fierce ecological world. As for other animals that give birth to their young, take care of them, and do feeding individually, it takes them a long time to complete one generation, and it is very risky. On the contrary, ants optimize productivity by handling a vast range of tasks quickly at each level. In addition, since numerous ants carry out the same type of work simultaneously, even if problems occur somewhere, they do not have much impact on the whole operation. It is just like a production line in a factory. It’s amazing that such wisdom comes from those small insects.

Just as there are many things to be taken care of even for one family, there is a tremendous amount of work for the worker ants to do in the kingdom of ants. How do worker ants divide up their workload? It varies according to species, but normally they do different types of work as they get older. When they are very young, they run different kinds of errands, staying near the queen, but when they grow a little older, they take care of eggs or larvae. When they reach youth, they function as nanny ants, taking care of big larvae and pupae in earnest. In adulthood, they continue to be faithful as worker ants, bringing food from outside the tunnel or digging a new tunnel. There are also army ants with big bodies and developed heads and chins. They are trustworthy soldiers that protect the kingdom and guard it from the enemies, as their name suggests.

The worker ants are taking care of the eggs
After cutting the leaves, the leafcutter ants are carrying the leaf pieces

Leafcutter ants, which started farming far before humans, are a perfect example of the division of labor. Leafcutter worker ants which collect leaves and grow fungus are divided into four classes from the day they are hatched. The biggest ones are army ants, and the smallest ones are black garden ants which take care of larvae and fungus. Medium-sized leafcutter ants cut and move leaves needed for farming, and ants smaller than them are guards, staying beside the medium-sized ants and guarding them from tachinid flies. The fact itself that every one of them is faithful to the role they are given at birth is amazing, and the power they exhibit that way is even more amazing. The average amount of dirt that a leafcutter ant colony digs is 20m³, equivalent to 44tons. Compared to humans, it can be likened to building the Great Wall of China. It is truly, incredibly great power, considering their small size.

The division of labor among ants shines its light especially in times of crisis. Let’s go back to the supposed situation. If you were an army ant, you would attack the invader, and if you were a nanny, you would evacuate the larvae to somewhere safe. You could be a worker ant that would repair the damages on the house. In the society of ants, being faithful to the task they’ve been given is a way to become one, and a way of survival to protect the members of the colony.

Sacrifice for the Colony

Most worker ants live faithfully for their colony, but there are also ants that even go beyond faithfulness and display beautiful sacrifice with their special duties.

Honeypot ants

They are honeypot ants that are found in arid areas of the southwestern United States and Australia. This special name which reminds us of a popular animated character seems to be derived from the role of some worker ants. They store honey, which their fellow ants bring, in their stomachs, and hang upside down from the ceilings. Their diligent fellow worker ants constantly bring honey, filling up their stomaches, which end up becoming multiple times bigger than their heads. While they are waiting with their swollen bodies that make it almost impossible for them to move, someone finally comes and taps their antennas. It is a “hunger” signal from a fellow ant. Then they step down temporarily and give the hungry ant some of the honey they’ve been storing. To survive in the desert where there is a lack of food and water for a long time, they serve their colony by using their own bodies as living storage.

Turtle ants that make holes in big trees and live inside them have evolved to completely fend off invaders that look for every chance to attack the kingdom. Turtle ant soldiers have wide and flat heads which they use to block the entrance to the ant tunnel and guard all day. If the entrance is too big, several ants stand there together with their heads blocking it. When an ant from the same colony taps their heads with their antenna, they open the door, but they never open it to ants from another colony. They stand on the same spot every single day. Their faithfulness is so amazing.

Carpenter ants typically found in the tropical forests in Malaysia display extreme sacrifice. There are ant species that use venom when attacked, and carpenter ants are one of those species. Ants of other species inject venom in their enemies by stinging them. However, carpenter ants use this unique method of self-sacrifice called “autothysis.” They rupture their own abdomens, releasing a sticky fluid laced with toxins on their attackers, and they die shortly thereafter.

Worker Ants’ Devotion

The first step to establishing a strong kingdom of ants is to maintain a close relationship between the queen ant and the first workers. As the queen ant becomes alone after the nuptial flight, she neither goes outside nor eats anything in order to raise her young fast and safely. The first mature worker ant needs to collect food diligently and feed the queen ant. If the first worker ant dies, the queen will eventually die from continuous spawning and loss of energy. Then the rest of the worker ants cannot survive much longer. Therefore, the first worker ant and the queen are in an inseparable relationship.

It’s not only the queen ant that needs help from the worker ants, but all other ants need help from their older sisters until they are fully grown up. Larvae that have just hatched out of the eggs have no legs and they cannot move by themselves. So, older workers bring food and feed their younger sisters that are squirming and whining. Also, when molting into adults, they cannot break open the cocoons by themselves, and they need help from outside. The mature worker ants take care of the workers of the next generation. This is how the worker bees, who dedicate their lives to their colony, love their younger sisters.

In Aesop’s fable titled The Ant and the Grasshopper, ants are portrayed as diligent insects that store food for the future, instead of eating, relaxing in the shade, and enjoying free time. In fact, ants need to store enough food in summer, because they do not hibernate during winter. According the fable, it is natural for the ants to find food, but in reality, it is not an easy task for worker ants to leave their nest and find food. Pogonomyrmex californicus, which are harvester ants in the Western United States, often have to fight other ants when they leave their nest in search of food. In the fierce battle to obtain good food, about 6% of the ants die per hour. Many other worker ants also die while trying to find food, either by being attacked by predators or getting lost.

Except some special cases due to the characteristics of the species, all the worker ants are the queen ant’s daughters. They give up on having their own offspring and only work, helping their mother and younger siblings, throughout their lives. This is probably why they are called “worker ants.” Animals make desperate efforts to leave genes according to their biological instinct. However, the devotion of the worker ants is beyond instinct, compared to other animals.

The Queen Ant Plays a Key Role in the Kingdom of Ants

The supreme ruler in the kingdom of ants is the queen ant. The queen can be easily misunderstood as a dictator that only gives orders because of the name “queen,” but this is not quite true when you look into their life.

A princess ant’s attempt to become a queen ant is followed by deaths of thousands of ants. The princess ant and male ants, which have lived, only waiting for the time for reproduction, either crawl or fly to find mates. However, predators such as birds and dragonflies aim to capture the moment when their prey flies around in group. Sadly, most ants are either eaten or die by falling into the water during this process.

Even after they survive from nuptial flight by flying fast with their stored energy and become a new queen ant, they still have the next huddle waiting for them. It is to find the right place to settle without being caught by predators. However, there are not many places where ants can live whether it be a forest with old trees, a city street, or a parking lot in an apartment complex. Even if the queen ants manage to land, many of them accidentally land in a place that is already occupied, and die even before laying any eggs. It varies by species, but only about one out of 500 to 10,000 ants becomes a queen ant that successfully forms her own kingdom.

After managing to find a place to settle, the queen ant first takes off her wings, using her middle and rear legs. Since she doesn’t have any worker ants yet and it is dangerous for her to go out to seek food, she makes nourishment by breaking down her wing muscles, which she doesn’t need anymore, or her abdominal fatty tissue. This way, she feeds her young with secretion that she herself makes from the salivary glands. Her life has completely changed from the time when she became a princess ant, when she used to do nothing but only eat. As the number of worker ants grows gradually, the queen ant becomes free from childcare. However, by this time she is completely exhausted as she has not eaten anything for quite some time. From this time, she carries out her duty of reproduction during her entire life, eating food that the worker ants bring her.

At a glance, it looks like the queen ant lives a comfortable life, being served by other ants, but it’s rather pathetic that she has to lay eggs all her life. Although she is called the queen, she is not like kings that dominate the people. She is the mother that dedicates her life to building and maintaining a nest and raising her young.

The kingdoms of ants, which are formed like that, exist until the queen dies and the last worker ant finishes its work. Meanwhile, numerous male ants and princess ants are born, and compete for survival. If they succeed, they can build one more amazing kingdom of ants.

Humans and all other living creatures that have survived in the earth’s ecosystem are social animals living with their highly developed system. The society of ants resembles that of humans in many aspects, such as the organized division of labor and fierce battles for survival. Shouldn’t we humans learn from the teamwork and sacrifice that have always accompanied the species of ants since the Mesozoic era?

“Go to the ant, you sluggard; consider its ways and be wise! It has no commander, no overseer or ruler, yet it stores its provisions in summer and gathers its food at harvest.” Pro 6:6–8

​References
Choi Jae-cheon, 『Discovery of the Empire of Ants』, Science Books, 1999
Bert Hölldobler, Edward O. Wilson, 『Journey to the Ants』, Belknap Press, 1994
Nam Sahng-ho, 「World of Ants, a Miniature of Human Society」, 『Donga Science』 Ninth issue, 1994
FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS