WATV.org is provided in English. Would you like to change to English?

矶汉拿

954 点击数

1. 地名

希伯来语“矶欣嫩谷”的希腊语标记为矶汉拿(Gehenna),是位于耶路撒冷城西南部地带一个狭窄山谷的地名。这地方在以色列王国时期,因百姓们将幼小的子女当作牺牲的活祭焚烧献祭而声名狼藉。

当时,以色列百姓们向外邦神摩洛(公牛形像的偶像)献牺牲的祭,他们用火烧红铁制的偶像,之后把幼小的子女放在两只烧红的双臂上献祭焚烧,是一种可憎的献祭仪式。

耶和华说:“犹大人行我眼中看为恶的事……他们在欣嫩子谷建筑陀斐特的邱坛,好在火中焚烧自己的儿女。这并不是我所吩咐的,也不是我心所起的意。” 耶7章30-31节

以色列百姓们的这种行为是否认和背叛救赎他们的上帝的行为,因此只能引起上帝的震怒。上帝通过约西亚王杜绝了那可憎行为,并不许人再献那种邪恶之祭。

(约西亚)王又污秽欣嫩子谷的陀斐特,不许人在那里使儿女经火献给摩洛(外邦神的名)。 王下23章10节

自从约西亚王在欣嫩谷废除了献邪恶牺牲祭的行为之后,百姓们便厌恶此地,将它当作垃圾焚化场。这里不仅焚烧垃圾,还焚烧了动物的尸体,以及被处死后没有被埋葬的罪犯的尸体。后来,欣嫩谷被公认为垃圾焚化场,也因焚烧罪犯死尸而出名,将这欣嫩谷音译成希腊语的就是‘矶汉拿(Gehenna)’,翻译成英语叫‘赫尔(Hell)’。

倘若你一只手叫你跌倒,就把它砍下来!你缺了肢体进入永生,强如有两只手落到地狱(矶汉拿),入那不灭的火里去。 可9章43节

我要指示你们当怕的是谁,当怕那杀了以后又有权柄丢在地狱(矶汉拿)里的。我实在告诉你们:正要怕他。 路12章5节

你们这些蛇类、毒蛇之种啊!怎么逃脱地狱(矶汉拿)的刑罚呢? 太23章33节

2. 矶汉拿(Gehenna)与地狱

耶稣解释人死后将受到的审判时,为什么引用了矶汉拿呢?这是为了让我们领悟天上的制度和道理。

耶稣回答说……我对你们说地上的事,你们尚且不信;若说天上的事,如何能信呢?” 约3章10-13节

若仔细查看耶稣所赐的这话语,就能发现耶稣想要告诉我们的其实是天上的事。但是,如果耶稣原原本本地说明灵的世界所发生的事,我们将无法理解,也无法接受。因为我们是从天上犯罪下到此地的罪人,对于灵的世界所发生的事情根本看不到、听不到,也感受不到。因此,通过这地上的制度和道理,说明了灵的世界的事情。因为地上的事是天上事的形状和影像(参考来8章5节)。

耶稣通过焚烧罪犯尸体的垃圾焚化场,告诉我们犯罪的灵魂有将要进入的火湖。倘若,耶稣只是针对耶路撒冷城外的垃圾焚化场矶汉拿本身而言,那么耶稣当时的文士和法利赛人就是与矶汉拿的判决毫无相干的人们。因为,耶路撒冷城外的矶汉拿是焚烧罪犯尸体的场所,而被社会认可的文士和法利赛人死后,其尸体会被埋葬。

在路12章5节“当怕那杀了以后又有权柄丢在地狱(矶汉拿)里的”这句话中“有权柄丢在地狱里的”指的是谁呢?当然指的是上帝。死后有权柄丢在像矶汉拿(Gehenna)一样的地狱火湖里的只有上帝一位。由此可知,耶稣所说的矶汉拿(Gehenna)并不是指地上的矶汉拿(Gehenna),而是指在灵的世界焚烧犯罪者的火湖(灵的矶汉拿)。

3. 魔鬼将进入的火湖

那迷惑他们的魔鬼被扔在硫磺的火湖里,就是兽和假先知所在的地方。他们必昼夜受痛苦,直到永永远远。 启20章10节

使徒约翰通过启示看到了魔鬼和假先知进入火湖永永远远受痛苦的场面。可是,众所周知魔鬼并不是肉体而是灵物。这不就说明了有灵物魔鬼将要进去受痛苦的火湖吗?耶稣就是想通过焚烧罪犯尸体的垃圾焚化场——矶汉拿,告诉我们有魔鬼和犯罪的灵魂将被扔进去的火湖。

4. 犯罪的灵魂们将被扔进去的火湖

有些人说,有魔鬼进入的火湖,但没有人的灵魂进入的火湖。然而,圣经晓谕如下。

当人子在他荣耀里,同着众天使降临的时候……把绵羊安置在右边,山羊在左边……王又要向那左边的说:‘你们这被咒诅的人,离开我,进入那为魔鬼和他的使者所预备的永火里去’……这些人要往永刑里去,那些义人要往永生里去。 太25章31-46节

末日,得不到救援的人们会站在左边。那时,他们所去的地方会是哪里呢?没有得到救援的他们,究竟会跟随谁呢?圣经晓谕说:“进入那为魔鬼和他的使者所预备的永火里去。”

没有得到救援的人们进入的永火,不是肉身的火湖。因为是灵物魔鬼将进入的火湖,因此是灵的矶汉拿(地狱火湖)。如同“人被谁制伏,就是谁的奴仆”(彼后2章19节)这话语,被魔鬼制伏的人,就要跟着他们的主人魔鬼进入火湖,这是灵的世界的法则。

5. 魔鬼的角色

我们当惧怕的不是肉体的死亡,而是死后将要进去受痛苦的灵的矶汉拿。魔鬼早已注定要遭受永远灭亡的刑罚和审判,因此为了哪怕是一个灵魂也要带到地狱,而迷惑着全世界(启12章7-9节)。

也许独自去地狱的事情让魔鬼感到特别害怕,所以它聚集了许多同行者。甚至连选民也要拉进地狱,像吼叫的狮子一般遍地游行,寻找可吞吃的灵魂。似乎是要用这种行为来报复上帝。那迷惑人的到现在也为了阻止许多灵魂走向上帝而不择手段,为了把上帝的选民拉进地狱而散播虚假和不法。

6. 抵挡魔鬼吧

末日越是临近,魔鬼的活动就会越严重。魔鬼不喜欢深受上帝之爱的我们,并希望所有的灵魂像自己一样被上帝丢弃。上帝的降临近在咫尺的这时刻,我们怎样做才能从魔鬼的手中保护好自己呢?怎样才能从魔鬼的手中保护好我的弟兄姐妹们呢?在与魔鬼的大争战中获胜的方法究竟是什么呢?

俗语说“最好的防守是进攻”。若一心只想逃避魔鬼的攻击,或是拥有“只要自己安全就行”的想法,这人必会成为魔鬼的头号目标。因为这是魔鬼最喜欢的类型。总而言之,我们只有抵挡魔鬼,才能取得胜利。

故此,你们要顺服上帝。务要抵挡魔鬼,魔鬼就必离开你们逃跑了。你们亲近神,上帝就必亲近你们。 雅4章7-8节

顺服上帝,就是抵挡魔鬼,抵挡魔鬼,就是亲近上帝。魔鬼最怕的就是爱。用上帝恩赐的武器“爱”,把被捆在魔鬼锁链之下的弟兄拯救出来,就是亲近上帝的事,也是抵挡魔鬼的事。在上帝的爱里抵挡魔鬼的人,不必惧怕地狱的恐怖和痛苦。因为有上帝预备好的天国在等待着我们。

然而,没有得到救援的人们将遭受的地狱刑罚该有多么可怕呢?肉体的死亡尚且可怕,何况灵魂的灭亡该有多么可怕呢?

上帝是看得见的世界和看不见的世界,以及所有世界的主宰和审判长。我们要更加竭尽全力顺从上帝,得到救援。

May 21, 2020

Gehenna

FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS

1. The name of a place

Gehenna, a Greek term for the Hebrew Ge-Hinnom (the Valley of Hinnom), is the name of a narrow valley in the southeast of ancient Jerusalem. This site was notorious for sacrificing little children by fire as an offering to a god during the period of the Divided Kingdom.

At that time, the Israelites offered sacrifices to Molech (an idol in the shape of a bull), a foreign god. They heated up the iron idol by fire and sacrificed their little children on the two arms of the red-hot iron; It was such a detestable sacrifice.

“ ‘The people of Judah have done evil in my eyes, declares the LORD . . . They have built the high places of Topheth in the Valley of Ben Hinnom to burn their sons and daughters in the fire—something I did not command, nor did it enter my mind.’ ” Jer 7:30-31

Such deed of the Israelites was rebellious against God who had bought them, and it aroused God’s wrath. God stopped the detestable deed through King Josiah, so that they would never perform such a wicked sacrifice again.

He (King Josiah) desecrated Topheth, which was in the Valley of Ben Hinnom, so no one could use it to sacrifice his son or daughter in the fire to Molech (the name of a god). 2 Ki 23:10

Since King Josiah abolished the wicked sacrifice held in the Valley of Ben Hinnom, the Israelites disgusted this site and turned it into the garbage incinerator, where they burned not only their trash but also animal remains and the bodies of criminals who were not buried after execution. Later it was widely regarded as a garbage dump and also became famous as the place for burning the corpses of criminals. The Valley of Ben Hinnom is translated into Greek as “Gehenna” and into English as “Hell.”

“If your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life maimed than with two hands to go into hell (Gehenna), where the fire never goes out.” Mk 9:43

“But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after the killing of the body, has power to throw you into hell (Gehenna) . . .” Lk 12:5

“You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell (Gehenna)?” Mt 23:33

2. Gehenna and hell

Why is it that Jesus quotes Gehenna while explaining the judgment that will occur after death? It’s because He wants to help us realize the heavenly systems and principles.

. . . said Jesus . . . “I have spoken to you of earthly things and you do not believe; how then will you believe if I speak of heavenly things?” Jn 3:10-13

When we carefully listen to the words of Jesus, we can understand what He wants us to know is about heavenly things. However, if He explains what happens in the spiritual world as it is, we can neither understand nor accept it. Since we are sinners who committed sins in heaven and were cast down to this earth, we cannot see, hear and feel what happens in the spiritual world. So He explains the things of the spiritual world through the earthly systems and principles. What is on the earth is a copy and shadow of what is in heaven (Heb 8:5).

Through the garbage incinerator where the bodies of criminals were burned, Jesus has taught us that there is the lake of burning sulfur into which the souls who sinned will be thrown. If He only referred to Gehenna itself, a garbage dump that was used as an incinerator outside the city of Jerusalem, the teachers of the law and the Pharisees in Jesus’ time had nothing to do with the judgment of Gehenna. It was because Gehenna outside the city of Jerusalem was the place where the bodies of criminals were burned and when the teachers of the law and the Pharisees, who were highly respected by most people in Jewish society, died, they were buried.

Jesus said in Luke 12:5, “Fear him who, after the killing of the body, has power to throw you into hell (Gehenna).” Whom does “him who has power to throw you into hell” refer to? Of course, it refers to God. Only God has power to throw into the lake of fire (hell) like Gehenna, after the killing of the body. Therefore, Gehenna Jesus mentioned is not the earthly Gehenna, but the lake of fire (the spiritual Gehenna) where those who sinned in the spiritual world are burned.

3. The lake of fire where the devil will be thrown

And the devil, who deceived them, was thrown into the lake of burning sulfur, where the beast and the false prophet had been thrown. They will be tormented day and night for ever and ever. Rev 20:10

The Apostle John saw in a vision the devil and false prophets being tormented in the lake of fire forever and ever. However, as we all know, the devil is a spiritual being, not a physical one. This means that there must be the lake of fire where the devil, a spirit, is thrown and tormented. Through Gehenna, a garbage incinerator where the bodies of criminals were burned, Jesus wanted to show us the existence of the lake of fire where the devil and the souls who sinned would be thrown.

4. The lake of fire where the souls who sin will be thrown

Some people say that there is a lake of fire where the devil will be thrown, but there is no lake of fire where the souls of people will be thrown. However, the Bible says as follows:

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him . . . He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left . . . Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.’ . . . Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.” Mt 25:31–46

On the last day, those who are not saved will stand on God’s left. Then, where will they go? Who will the unsaved follow? The Bible says, “They will be thrown into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.”

The lake of fire, which the unsaved will go into, is not a physical place, but the spiritual Gehenna (hell: the lake of fire), because the devil—a spiritual being—is cast into it. As it is written, “For a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him” (2 Pe 2:19), those who become slaves to the devil are to follow the devil, their master, into the lake of fire, too. Such is the law in the spiritual world.

5. The devil’s role

What we have to fear is not the death of the body, but the spiritual Gehenna where the unsaved go after death. Since the devil is already sentenced to the punishment of eternal destruction, he leads the whole world astray in order to drag even more souls into hell (Rev 12:7-9).

Considering that the devil is gathering as many companions as possible, he must be afraid of going to hell alone. As if his deed is to take revenge on God, he is prowling around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour, so he can drag even the elect into hell. Even at this moment, the deceiver is trying every possible means to prevent many souls from coming to God, spreading lies and lawlessness, to dgrag God’s chosen people into hell.  

6. Resist the devil

As the end time is drawing near, the devil is even more active at work. He hates us who are loved by God and wants all souls to be forsaken by God. At this point in time when God’s coming is very near, how can we defend ourselves from the devil? How can we protect our brothers and sisters from the devil? What is the way to win the great war against the devil?

There is a saying that goes, “Attack is the best defense.” If a person just tries to avoid the devil’s attacks or thinks, ‘It’s okay if only I am safe,’ that person will become the first target of the devil. It’s because that kind of person is one of the devil’s favorite people. We must resist the devil so that we can win in the end.

Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you . . . Jas 4:7-8

To submit ourselves to God is to resist the devil, and to resist the devil is to come near to God. It is love that the devil fears the most. Rescuing our brothers and sisters from the chains of the devil with our God-given weapon—love—is the way to come near to God and to resist the devil. Those who resist the devil with the love of God do not need to be afraid of the horror and torment of hell, because the kingdom of heaven God has prepared is waiting for them.

However, the punishment of hell where those who are not saved will go is so dreadful beyond imagination. Since they fear the death of the body, the destruction of the soul must be even more dreadful for them.

Let us all make more of an effort to obey God, who is the Lord and Judge of the whole world—the visible world and the invisible world, so we can attain salvation.

FacebookTwitterEmailLineKakaoSMS